Skip to main content

School of Social and Political Science: About


Ten Years of the Scottish Parliament: achievements and futures. A one day conference on 12 May 2009


Ten Years of the Scottish Parliament: achievements and futures

12 May 2009

at Our Dynamic Earth, Edinburgh

To mark the 10th anniversary of the Scottish Parliament, the Institute of Governance is bringing together key academics, politicians, political journalists and policy makers to assess the achievements of the Parliament; to stimulate dialogue on the opportunities and challenges of the next decade; and discuss the future shape of Scottish self-government.

The day will be a lively mixture of keynote addresses, short presentations and round-table question-time type discussion and will focus on:

•    How far the Scottish Parliament has matched the aspirations and expectations held by opinion-formers, civil society and the Scottish public at the time of the devolution referendum in 1997;
•    The future of Scottish self-government, including discussion of the prospects for reforming devolution and the prospects for Scottish independence.

The full programme is now available here.

Speakers include Nicola Sturgeon (Deputy First Minister), Iain Gray (Leader of Scottish Labour), Annabel Goldie (Leader of the Scottish Conservatives) and Alex Fergusson (Presiding Officer of the Scottish Parliament). There will also be contributions from Scotlands leading academic commentators, including James Mitchell, John Curtice, Tom Devine, Nicola McEwen, Michael Keating and David McCrone.

The conference also includes

  • the recording of a session of BBC Radion Scotlands Riddoch Questions
  • the launch of a Hansard Society book on the Scottish Parliament 1999-2009
  • the launch of the Scottish Affairs digitial archive

BOOKING:    The conference fee is £50 plus 15%VAT. You can book online now.

white image