Skip to main content

School of Social and Political Science: About the school


Student Prizewinners Announced

Congratulations to this year's winners of the Sue Grant Service Award and the Director's Prize for Best MSc Dissertation.

The winners of the Sue Grant Service award for 2010-11 are Kathleen Ward, Catherine-Rose Stocks-Rankin, Hannah Zagel, Maddie Breeze, Hilary Cornish, Joanna Wiseman and Aoife McKenna as initiators of the Femjoy Study Group and organisers of the Researching Feminist Futures conference. The conference was a very successful two-day event examining feminism and academic work, involving postgraduates and staff from Edinburgh and the rest of the UK. They also put together a snazzy website at
and are planning further outputs from the conference. The prize committee were particularly impressed by the contribution they have made to the intellectual community in Edinburgh and beyond with their outstanding and inspiring work.  The award is named in honour of Sue Grant- the founding administrator of the Graduate School- who retired in 2009. Sue will present the award at the  Graduate School celebratory drinks which follow the Winter Graduation ceremony on Tuesday November 22. 

We are delighted to announce that the Director's prize for Best Masters Dissertation 2010-11 is awarded to Hugh Lamarque (MSc Africa and International Development). Hugh's dissertation is  entitled "Fuelling Instability: Power and Petrol in the Goma-Gisenyi Borderland" . Both examiners agreed that this was an excellent dissertation based upon  the creative application of literature on the constitution and operation of power in borderlands, and on high quality empirical data gathered in a short time frame and under challenging circumstances.  Both also commented on the power and clarity of Hugh's writing, making the dissertation "a true pleasure to read", and worthy of publication.  The Director of the Graduate School will present the award at the Graduate School celebratory drinks which follow the Winter Graduation ceremony on Tuesday November 22.

Edinburgh Students