Skip to main content

School of Social and Political Science: About


Sue Renton Wins 2016 CAHSS Recognition Award

The deserving winner of the 2016 College award for Outstanding Contribution to the Student Experience was SPS Student Experience Officer, Sue Renton.

Sue has worked tirelessly over the past twenty-one years, supporting students during their time at University and beyond; striving to ensure that student experience is paramount within SPS and across the University as a whole.

Examples of Sue's work include spearheading the implementation of Peer Assisted Learning Schemes (PALS) within SPS. Her enthusiasm and dedication to the Sustainable Development PALS scheme in particular has notably benefitted students, strengthening and widening the sustainable development community across the University.

Sue has also been pivotal in the creation and subsequent success of the Edinburgh University Sustainable Development Association (EUSDA), which has gone on to win EUSA's Best New Society Award 2014/15 as well as two Sustainability Awards in the past two years.

"Our two University Sustainability Awards would not have been possible without Sue's consistent support and guidance." - EUSDA

Focussing on the experience of new students, Sue has also worked with The Institute of Academic Development to deliver additional support mechanisms and to introduce enhanced induction materials, including Welcome Week packs, for all of our incoming students.

The passion and drive with which Sue champions the student experience is recognised and appreciated across both our academic and student communities:

“Sue has unequivocally changed my experience at University for the better through her knowledge, engagement, and passion.” - SPS Student

"We are extremely proud of Sue's achievements and are grateful for her commitment and dedication to the School and its students. Our congratulations also go to Rebecca Shade (Politics and IR), Lucie Stokes and Amelia Hodgson (Student Development Office) and Beckie Hewer ( Social Policy, Founding Editor of the  Graduate blog It Ain't Necessarily So) for being shortlisted in their respective categories." - Professor Fiona Mackay, Dean and Head of School

Further Information

Full details of the 2016 winners and runners-up are available online.

sue renton