People

School of Social and Political Science

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Alan Barnard Professor Emeritus; Honorary Professorial Fellow; formerly Professor of the Anthropology of Southern Africa Southern Africa,Hunter gatherers,Human origins,Origins of language,Archaeology and anthropology,History of anthropology A.Barnard@ed.ac.uk
John Harries Senior Teaching Fellow and Deputy Director of the Undergraduate School (Progression and Student Experience) Social memory,time and temporality,indigeneity and identity (particularly in postcolonial settler societies),matter and materiality,the senses and the environment,Canada,Newfoundland,the Beothuk 5.25 Chrystal Macmillan Building
+44 (0)131 651 3065
j.harries@ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Hearn Head of Sociology; Professor of Political and Historical Sociology Theories of social power,the origins and nature of liberal society,social change and evolution,Nationalism and National Identity,The Sociology of Scotland,sociology of competition,Classical sociology and Scottish Enlightenment thought Room 6.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4242
J.Hearn@ed.ac.uk
Ailsa Henderson Professor of Political Science political behaviour,political culture,Regionalism,voting and elections,comparative territorial politics,UK,Scotland,Quebec-Scotland comparisons,European values,Public opinion and Political attitudes 3.09 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1618
ailsa.henderson@ed.ac.uk
Charlie Jeffery Senior Vice Principal; Professor of Politics Regionalism,Multi-level governance,Public attitudes,Public policy,Scottish Politics,Territorial Politics Charles Stewart House
9-16 Chambers Street
+44 (0)131 650 6443
Charlie.Jeffery@ed.ac.uk
James Kennedy Director, Centre of Canadian Studies; Senior Lecturer in Sociology Comparative/Historical Sociology,Political Sociology,Nationalism and National Identity,Civil Society and Democratization,Liberalism,Scotland,Canada/Quebec 6.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4250
J.Kennedy@ed.ac.uk
Niamh Moore Chancellor's Fellow; Deputy Director of Research (Ethics) Feminist theory,ethics and research practices,Feminist Research,Sustainability,women's movements,ecofeminism,archives,Research methodology,oral history,community-based participatory research,Queer Theory Room 3.09, 3F2 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44(0)131 6508260
Niamh.Moore@ed.ac.uk @rawfeminism
Charles Raab Professorial Fellow 3.18 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 4243
c.d.raab@ed.ac.uk
Wilfried Swenden Senior Lecturer in Politics; Co-Director Centre of South Asian Studies Federalism,intergovernmental relations,Governing in divided societies,Indian Politics,Territorial Politics,Multi-level governance,Comparative Politics 3.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4255
W.Swenden@ed.ac.uk
Kay Tisdall Professor of Childhood Policy, Programme Director MSc Childhood Studies and Co-director of the Centre for Research on Families and Relationships Childhood and Youth Studies,Participation,Children's Rights,Socio-legal,Public policy,Child Welfare,Citizenship,Human rights,disability,Education 3.27 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3930
K.Tisdall@ed.ac.uk
Sophia Woodman Chancellor's Fellow Citizenship, human rights and social movements; contemporary China; law and society; regional autonomy frameworks; migration and translocality. 3.09 
18 Buccleuch Place
44 (0)131 651 4745
Sophia.Woodman@ed.ac.uk

Other Schools

Edinburgh Law School

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Dr Sharon Cowan Professor of Feminist and Queer Legal Studies; Director of Research and Knowledge Exchange Criminal law, asylum law, and law, gender and sexuality s.cowan@ed.ac.uk
Dr Robert Lane Senior Lecturer in EC Law; Director of Graduate LLB Programme Canadian constitutional law and the Canadian federal system robert.lane@ed.ac.uk
Prof Stephen Tierney Professor of Constitutional Theory Constitutional law and national pluralism; Comparative constitutional law; Legal accommodation of national identity s.tierney@ed.ac.uk

School of Languages, Literatures and Cultures

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Prof Rob Dunbar Chair of Celtic Languages, Literature, History and Antiquities

Gaelic Language, Literature and Culture in Canada: Canadian Language Law and Policy; Canadian Multicultural Policy

Rob.Dunbar@ed.ac.uk
Dr John Shaw Honorary Fellow, Celtic and Scottish Studies Gaelic ethnology in Nova Scotia J.W.Shaw@ed.ac.uk
Dr Michelle Keown English Literature

Settler subjectivities in Canadian literature; postcolonial literature and theory

Michelle.Keown@ed.ac.uk
Dr Lee Spinks English Literature

Michael Ondaatje
Postcolonial writing

Lee.Spinks@ed.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Taylor English Literature Transatlantic Literature Andrew.Taylor@ed.ac.uk

School of History

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Dr Adam Budd History Canadian anglophone literature (particularly Montreal poets and novelists, mid 20th-c) Transatlantic literary and cultural relations (18th century) Canadian intellectual history (particularly Northrop Frye) adam.budd@ed.ac.uk
Dr Amy Lloyd Economics and Social History British emigration, 19th and early-20th centuries amy.lloyd@ed.ac.uk
Ms Yvonne McEwen KE Coordinator/Honorary Fellow, Centre for the Study of Modern Conflict

Cultures of warfare, cultural approaches to coping with warfare,First Nations and Scotland in the First World War Remembrance

Yvonne.McEwen@ed.ac.uk
Prof Robert Morris Prof Emeritus, Economic and Social History

Urban history of Montreal

rjmorris@ed.ac.uk
Prof Richard Rodger Economic and Social History Urban history, Environment and Planning: Montreal, Toronto and prairie cities Richard.Rodger@ed.ac.uk

School of Architecture and Landscape

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Dr Ella Chmielewska Cultural Studies Visual culture; Urban graffiti in Montreal; Practices of commemoration and display Ella.Chmielewska@ed.ac.uk

School of Design

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Dr Juliette Macdonald Head of School of Design Craft in Canada and Scotland juliette.macdonald@ed.ac.uk
Mr Arno Verhoeven Lecturer, School of Design Craft in Canada and Scotland a.verhoeven@ed.ac.uk

Moray House School of Education

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Prof Grant Jarvie Chair of Sport - Head of Academy of Sport Sports Policy, Canadian Sport, Political Economy, Olympic and Commonwealth Games, Sport and International Development, Social Inequality, North American Highland Games grant.jarvie@ed.ac.uk

School of GeoSciences

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Dr Jan Penrose Human Geogrpahy

Nationalism and identity politics;
Popular festivals and identity construction

Dr.J.Penrose@ed.ac.uk
Prof Charles W. J. Withers Ogilvie Chair of Geography

History of Canadian exploration and 'high latitude' travel narratives; science in Canada

 C.W.J.Withers@ed.ac.uk

University of Edinburgh Business School

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Dr Greg Gregson Entrepreneurship and Innovation

Technology transfer; Academic entrepreneurship; National systems of innovation; Research commercialisation

Geoff.Gregson@ed.ac.uk
Dr Ben Spigel Chancellor's Fellow, Entrepreneurship and Innovation Group

Entrepreneurship, Innovation and Economic Development in Canadian Cities

Ben.Spigel@ed.ac.uk

Research Students

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Shirley-Pat Chamberlain PhD Student, Canadian Studies Canada,citizenship,abjection,civil society,civil society organizations,social citizenship,Indigenous Peoples,place,space,power,Ethnicity & 'race',class,critical theory,interrelation,decolonization,marginalization,Gender,settler colonialism George Square
s1474155@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kasper Swerts PhD Student, Canadian Studies Canada,nationalism,Historiography,Philosophy of history,Quebec,Flanders,Belgium,Modern History,Transnational History Watson Crescent 9/7
s1369297@sms.ed.ac.uk

Recent Graduates

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Harriet Kennedy PhD Student Quebec,Bande Dessinée,Caricature,Nationalism,National Identity,Comics Scholarship,Text/image interaction
Kaitlin McCormick PhD Student Historical Indigenous/European relations,Museums and archives
Megan Melanson PhD Student Terrorism,Language,Liberationist movements,Culture,Consciousness