Skip to main content

School of Social and Political Science: Graduate school


Boel McAteer Türkmenoğlu

Boel McAteer Türkmenoğlu
Boel McAteer Türkmenoğlu
International Development School of Social and Political Science University of Edinburgh
Edinburgh UK
Research Interests
Forced displacement, Refugee studies, Urban Refugees, Refugee Livelihoods, Gender and Development, Development and Humanitarian Aid, Turkey, social exclusion, labour market inequlities

PhD Title

Gendering self-reliance: Constructing the ideal refugee wo/man within livelihoods support for displaced Syrians in Turkey

My research looks at self-reliance as a concept within international refugee protection, asking how it is gendered in the ways it is constructed, understood and navigated within inter- and non-governmental organisations aiming to create jobs or incomes for urban refugees in western Turkey.


2015-2020: PhD International Development, University of Edinburgh

2012-13: MSc Human Rights and International Politics, University of Glasgow

2008-12: BA Honours Journalism, University of Stirling


Development Principles and Practices (PG) guest lecturer 2020

Politics of the Middle East (UG honours) course tutor 2019-20

Comparative Politics (UG) course tutor 2019-20

Global Development Challenges (PG) online course tutor 2017-19

Analysing Development (PG) online course tutor 2018-19

International Development Research Design and Practice (PG) course tutor 2018-19

Europe and International Migration (UG honours) course tutor 2017-18

Relevant Work Experience

2014-15: The UK Government's Stabilisation Unit

2013-14: Department for International Development (DFID)

Academic Awards

2015: The Chrystal MacMillan Studentship

2013: Glasgow Refugee Asylum and Migration Network collaborative masters' dissertation funding

2012: The Speakeasy Prize for undergraduate dissertation

Non-Academic Awards

2013: Finalist in the Guardian's International Development Journalism Competition

2012: Shortlisted for Amnesty UK's Student Human Rights Reporter of the Year Award


Dr Jean-Benoît Falisse

Dr Claire Duncanson