Skip to main content

School of Social and Political Science: Graduate school

Search

Politics and IR

Name PhD Title Research Interests Contact Information
Monalisa Adhikari Peacebuilding and political settlements in a post-liberal world: Case of Indian and Chinese engagements in Nepal and Myanmar Indian security and foreign policy,Chinese Foreign Policy,International peacebuilding,Fragile and conflict affected states,Political settlements,International Engagement,Emerging powers,Fragile States,South Asia,Nepal,Myanmar  

s1349960@sms.ed.ac.uk
Talal Alkhadher Post-1967 secular trends in Egypt Middle East Politics,Arab political thought,Moderation Theory,Social movements,Secularism,Islamic political thought,Egypt,Arab Liberalism  

T.Alkhadher@ed.ac.uk
Camilo Ardila Arévalo Peace and conflict,Theories of democracy,Comparative constitutionalism,just war theory,ethics,Peace and reconciliation processes  

Camilo.Ardila@ed.ac.uk
Gavin Barber Political parties,Comparative European Politics,Organisation Studies 3.12, Chrystal MacMillan Building 

G.R.Barber@sms.ed.ac.uk
Francesca Batzella Faithful agent or independent actor? The European Commission in the external dimension of EU Energy Policy European Union,European Integration,EU Energy Policy,EU external relations,European Commission,Academic teaching  

f.batzella@herts.ac.uk
Emilia Belknap Feminizing the Gender Gap: A Feminist Approach to Understanding Gender Gaps in Support of Independence Voting Behaviour,Electoral and Referendum behaviour,Devolution and constitutional change in the UK,Feminist Theory,Gender and Politics,Feminism,Feminist Theories and Research Practices,Political Behaviour,Mixed methods,Quantitative Methods,Qualitative Methods,Experimental Methodologies,Surveys,Focus Groups,Gender Theory G.10 

Emilia.Belknap@ed.ac.uk
Francesco Bertoldi Territorial politics,Elections,Ethnic conflict,Northern Ireland,Power-sharing agreements,Electoral Systems in Divided Societies,Identity Politics,Social Identity Theory,Discourse Analysis,Ethnicity and Identity  

f.bertoldi@sms.ed.ac.uk
Benedikt Buechel Political Theory,The Ethics of Migration,Statelessness,Human Rights,Sovereignty,Territorial Rights,Self-Determination,Feminist Theory  

Benedikt.Buechel@ed.ac.uk
Thomas Charman The Discursive Construction of Sexual Violence against Men in Conflict: A Discourse-Theoretical Analysis of NGO and International Legal Documents Gender,gender and international relations,gender based violence,sexual violence,Gender and conflict,Masculinities,Militarised Masculinities,Sexual violence against men,Feminism,Poststructuralism,Discourse Analysis,Frame Analysis Rm 3.14, Chrystal MacMillan Building 

tcharman@exseed.ed.ac.uk, s1460585@sms.ed.ac.uk
Kitty Chou Counterterrorism,Terrorism,Political violence,political psychology,Research Ethics,qualitative and mixed methods research projects using in-depth interviews West Wing 
+44 (0) 744 951 4023
cchou@ed.ac.uk
Christina Dineen Contemporary political theory,Political philosophy,Applied ethics,Ethics and morality,Resource allocation,Well-being,Bioethics  
Doctoral Researcher
christina.dineen@ed.ac.uk
Joseph Conrad Climate Justice and the Corporation as a Moral Agent climate justice,corporate ethics,collective agency,social ontology,political theory,moral philosophy,environmental ethics,sustainability  

joseph.conrad@ed.ac.uk
Yazmin Morlet Corti privacy,online privacy,Cyberspace as political space,Political Culture,public policy,Comparative Politics,Big Data Analytics,big data,Science and technology,data protection,behaviour,attitudes,Quantitative Analysis,policy preferences  

Yazmin.Morlet@ed.ac.uk
Cleo Davies “Instrumentalism, Power Maximisation, or Legitimation? Understanding the European Commission’s Response to the Global Financial Crisis, 2008-10” International Organisations,European studies,The politics of financial market supervision and regulation,International Political Economy Graduate office - Chrystal Macmillan Building 

cleo.davies@ed.ac.uk
Kathy Dodworth NGO legitimation as practice: crafting political space in Tanzania Theories of Legitimacy,Social capital,Foucault,state-society relations,NGOs and Development,Non-state actors,Bourdieu,Ethnography,Tanzania,African studies 2.14 Chrystal Macmillan Building 

kathy.dodworth@ed.ac.uk
Adrian Favero The Role of Polish Cities in Shaping Attitudes of Urban, Educated Youth towards European Integration European Union,Urban Governance,Return / transnational migration,Europeanisation and Globalisation,Central Eastern Europe  

A.Favero@ed.ac.uk
Ricardo Ribeiro Ferreira State-media relations,Populism,Media and democracy,Social media and politics,Disinformation,Journalism,Brazil  

ricardo.rf@ed.ac.uk
Louis Fletcher  

louis.fletcher@ed.ac.uk
Isabella Gabrovsky Exile or Refuge?: Comparing Attitudes towards National Identity and Immigration Through the Experiences of Syrian Refugees in England and Scotland Britain,ethnography,identity politics,Migration and development,minority rights,Multiculturalism,nationalism,Policy,National Identity 1.06 

Isabella.Gabrovsky@ed.ac.uk
Barbara Gaweda No country for losers? Gender, (in)equality, and the discursive construction of subjects and values in Polish politics gender,post-communism,post-Soviet politics,Central Eastern Europe,Feminism,Feminist institutionalism,Ukraine,Discourse Theory,Feminist Research,Postcolonialism,Europeanization,nationalism,Inequality,Feminist theory/research,Sexuality,discourse analysis,Gender & intersectionality  

B.J.Gaweda@sms.ed.ac.uk
Joe Gazeley Mali,Foreign Policy Analysis,European Security,French Postcolonial Relations,State Formation,Political History  

Joe.Gazeley@ed.ac.uk
Victor Gigleux International Relations,Small States,European studies,International peace-keeping operations,EU external relations,Role Theory,Foreign Policy Analysis Chrystal Macmillan Building 
+44(0)7842555104
victorgigleux14@gmail.com
Omar Alejandro Loera Mexico,Foreign Policy,Domestic sources of Foreign Policy,Geopolitics,Mexico-U.S. relations,Autonomy in Foreign Policy,the structure/agency problem,Role Theory 1.06 
+44 7712128579
o.loera@ed.ac.uk
Alice Hague Faithful advocates: Faith communities and environmental activism in Scotland. Environment,Climate change,community activism,faith-based activism,advocacy,mobilisation,environmental politics,environmental ethics,UK,USA,Sweden  

alice.hague(at)ed.ac.uk
No Photo Philipp Heinrich Fridge Experiments: Exploring the relationship between implicit attachment to the EU and trust European Identities, Public Attachment to the EU, Public Attitudes, Experimental Approaches  

philipp.heinrich@ed.ac.uk
Jessica E. Hewkin Politics of immigration,Policy construction,American politics/history/political development,Feminist Research  

jessica.hewkin@ed.ac.uk
Yukinori Iwaki Global Justice from Outside-the-Box Social and Political Theory,Political Philosophy,Global justice,poverty,Environment,labour,time,Climate change  

yiwaki@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Marc S. Jacob Elections,organizations and institutions,Political parties,Quantitative Research,Comparative Political Behavior  

M.S.Jacob@sms.ed.ac.uk
Patrick Jahnke Asset Manager Capitalism: The Causes and Consequences of the Re-Concentration of Shareholder Ownership Socially Responsible Investment (SRI),Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR),International Political Economy,Stakeholder Theory,Financial Intermediation,Corporate Governance,Fiduciary Capitalism,Agency Theory,Shareholder Voting Rights Politics and International Relations 
+49 172 342 7533
p.d.jahnke@sms.ed.ac.uk
Camilo Jara-Villalobos Effectiveness of Freedom of Information Laws and Information Commissioners in the fight of corruption Administrative Law,Administrative Sanctions,Politics of transparency and accountability,Freedom of Information,Corruption and Anti-Corruption Studies,Information Commissioners,Quantitative Research Methods  

c.jara-villalobos@ed.ac.uk
Beth Katz Social inclusion,Politics of immigration,Adaptation,Interdisciplinary research,Multi-level governance,Adaptive governance,Diversity,Inequality,Innovation,Immigration,Cross-sector collaboration,Coproduction,Mixed methods  

beth.katz@ed.ac.uk
Jaida Casakit Keaveney Middle East Politics,Iraq,State building,Sectarianism,health care systems,policy and interventions,Islamic political thought  

J.C.Keaveney@sms.ed.ac.uk
Nicole Koenig 3.12 

nicole.koenig1@gmail.com
Hsinyen Lai Historical sociology,Gramsci and Marxist Theory,ideas and foreign policy,International Relations of the Middle East,the Gulf Arab states,the Arab Left,nationalism and capitalism,China's Middle Eastern policy 4.14 

s1264771@sms.ed.ac.uk
Benjamin Leruth Differentiated Integration in the European Union: a Comparative Study of Government Preferences in Finland, Sweden and Norway European Integration,European Union,British Politics,Comparative Politics,Regionalism,Nordic Politics  

b.j.leruth@kent.ac.uk
Siqi Li  
+44(0)7598465990
S1266509@sms.ed.ac.uk
Yue Liu Power and law: state interactions in the South China Sea and the regional maritime order in the 21st century International Relations,Regional Security,International Law of the Sea,Maritime Disputes,Geopolitics,China and East Asia,Southeast Asia,International Order Transformation,US-China/Asia relations  

liu.yue@ed.ac.uk
Nokwazi Makanya Public budgeting,Legislative behaviour,Political economy of budget processes,South African politics,Institutions and institutional change  

N.Makanya@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ritumbra Manuvie Governance of Climate Change Related Migrations in Assam (India) Climate change Migration,Governance,Public Policy,Institutions and institutional change,South Asia,Borderlands,Wicked Problems 3.12 

s0978558@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sissela Matzner Foreign Policy,Political parties,Responsibility,Narratives,Humanitarianism,Political violence,Conflict,Military intervention  

Oscar Moreno-Martinez Technological innovation in the Colombian war. Insurgency, Counterinsurgency, and Terror (1993–2012) Technology and Innovation Studies,Colombian Armed Conflict,Military-Technical Change,Insurgency & Counter-Insurgency,United States Foreign Security Policy,War Studies Rm 1.04, Old Surgeons' Hall 

oscar.moreno@ed.ac.uk
Wassim Mroue Middle East Politics,IR and Middle East,Sectarianism  

s1675407@sms.ed.ac.uk
Cera Murtagh Fighting for the Centre: Multi-Ethnic Parties in Post-Conflict Societies in Comparative Perspective Post-conflict societies,Peace and conflict,Ethnicity and Identity,Nationalism and National Identity,Political parties,Social movements,gender politics Room 3.12, Chrystal Macmillan Building 
0131 651 3785
c.e.murtagh@sms.ed.ac.uk
Martyna Napierska Hannah Arendt, The Polish Peasant and the digital migrant community in Edinburgh documents,Archives,Community Development,migrant integration,political theory,local governance and grassroots democracy,digital culture,Digital ethnography,Social Power  

s1532691@sms.ed.ac.uk
Tanita Jill Poeggel Struggles around Detention and Deportation of Non-Citizens in Germany Immigration and asylum policy,political theory,asylum seekers and refugees,critical migration research,Migration and citizenship,Social movements,critical theory,national identity,Memory politics  

s1655289@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Ioana Popescu (re)humanisation,Peace and conflict,participatory research,Arts-Based Research Methods,Theatre & Performance,political emotions,Ethics,interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary approaches,Arts and politics  

Ioana.Popescu[at]ed.ac.uk
Alexandra Remond Britain,Canada,federal states,identity politics,nationalism,Politics,Comparative Politics,British-EU politics,Scotland,Political parties,Territorial Politics,Nationalism,Nationalism and National Identity,Scottish Independence Referendum,Quebec-Scotland comparisons,Political identities and citizenship,Election campaigning,Electoral Systems in Divided Societies,Electoral and Referendum behaviour,Montenegro,the Balkans 3.12 

a.remond@ed.ac.uk
Ivar Vargas Rivas The international debate on Lethal Autonomous Weapons Systems: a Chilean perspective International Security,Artificial Intelligence and Robotics,International Humanitarian Law,Lethal Autonomous Weapons Systems,Pierre Bourdieu,Ontological Security Theory,Chile,International Relations,AI ethics,Disarmament,ethnography  

ivar.vargas@ed.ac.uk
Alec Ross Justice in Refuge: Quotas, Markets, and a 'Fair Share' Social and Political Theory,Refugee studies,Applied ethics,Human rights,marketisation,Immigration and asylum policy,Forced migration,Ethics and markets G.10 
(+44) 738 068 0708
Alec.Ross@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Sofiane Sahnoun Active Citizenship for British Muslims under the Coalition Government identity politics,national identity,Citizenship and belonging  
07778144310
s1368857@sms.ed.ac.uk
Anthony Salamone European integration,European Union,Brexit,Scottish-European relations,UK-EU relations,Scottish politics,Devolution,British politics,UK foreign policy,Public opinion,Public policy,Europeanisation,Comparative politics  

A.M.Salamone@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Fiona Sarwar Human rights,Foreign Policy,Scotland,Sub-state diplomacy,Paradiplomacy,Feminist Foreign Policy,Scottish Government,Women,Peace and Security,Peace and conflict,Scottish Nationalism,Rights-based Approaches,Devolution and UK constitution  

F.J.Sarwar@sms.ed.ac.uk
Andrew Scott Policy reasons or policy networks? The factors influencing shale gas policy-making within the British government. energy politics,energy security,business regulation,environmental politics,Public policy,Comparative Politics,policy networks,policy community,Politics of oil Chrystal Macmillan Building 

s0823307@sms.ed.ac.uk
Talia Shoval Environmental Ethics in Just War Theory Just war theory,Environmental ethics,Justice and non-human animals,Moral philosophy,Political theory,Political philosophy,Non-anthropocentrism,Applied ethics  

Talia.Shoval@ed.ac.uk
Judith Sijstermans Evaluating the Impact of Transnational Party Collaboration on European Stateless Nationalist and Regionalist Parties Political parties,European Union,Policy learning,Europeanization,Nationalism,Regionalism,Socialization,Policy networks,Policy transfer,Multi-level governance,British Politics  

judith.sijstermans@ed.ac.uk
Lukas Slothuus Political theory,Political philosophy,Marxism,Critical theory,Resistance,Contentious politics,Political affect,Radical democracy,Civil disobedience  

Lukas.Slothuus@ed.ac.uk
Saskia Smellie Explaining Variation in Refugee Protection Policy in the EU: National Role Conceptions and Domestic Political Constraints Politics of Migration and Asylum Policy,Responsibility-Sharing,European Union,Foreign Policy,Role Theory School of Social & Political Science 
07530 882515
Saskia.Smellie@ed.ac.uk
Deanna Soloninka State-minority relations,International organisations,European institutions,Nationalism and national identity,Minority rights,post-Soviet politics,Comparative politics  

d.soloninka@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Pietro Stefanini Working title: Settler Colonial Humanitarianism: Israel/Palestine as a case study Political violence,Settler Colonialism,Humanitarianism,War,Militarism,Anticolonial Resistance,International Relations,Middle East Politics,Israel/Palestine,Refugee studies  

P.A.Stefanini@sms.ed.ac.uk
Damian Strycharz National role conceptions and foreign policy change: Russia’s divergent reactions to crises in the post-Soviet space Russian foreign policy,Foreign policy analysis,Role theory,Post-Soviet space  

damian.strycharz@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Yifang Sun PhD of Politics political psychology,US foreign policy,Foreign Policy Analysis  

s1563324@sms.ed.ac.uk
Consuelo Thiers Understanding the Role of Political Leaders in Shaping the Resilience and Variability of the Chilean-Bolivian and Chilean-Peruvian Rivalries: A Political Psychological Approach political psychology,Foreign Policy Analysis,Latin American Foreign Policies,At-a-distance personality assessment of political leaders  

consuelo.thiers@ed.ac.uk
Larissa Toal Army of Dolls: Discursive and Substantive Representations of Women in Sub-State Nationalist Movements Feminism,Nationalism,women's and social movements,Critical Discourse Analysis,Gender and conflict  

s1269429@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alexis Montambault Trudelle Political economy,The Gulf States,Sovereign Wealth Funds,Institutions and institutional change,Middle East Politics,State building,Financial Markets,Political Economy of Oil,Rentier States  

A.Montambault-Trudelle@sms.ed.ac.uk
Patrick Utz Territorial politics,Party politics,Europeanization  

patrick.utz@ed.ac.uk
Kim Vender Climate Change Policy,Chinese Foreign Policy,Role Theory,Global leadership,Ecosystems-based adaptation and mitigation,International Responsibility of Emerging Powers,Blue Carbon  

kim.vender@ed.ac.uk
Ingmar Versolmann Explaining European Energy Policy - Policy making through a Historical Institutionalist framework European Union,EU Energy Policy,New Institutionalism,EU external relations,European Intergration,Energy politics,Energy security 4.14 
+44 (0) 778 774 4004
iversolm@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Gisli Vogler Towards an ethos of reality: Judging Responsibility-for-Complicity political theory,Social theory,Political memory and historical injustice,Theories of democracy,Power,the structure/agency problem,Critical Social and Political Theory Politics and International Relations School of Social and Political Science University of Edinburgh 

s1668190@sms.ed.ac.uk
Cat Wayland Critical Social and Political Theory,Political Philosophy,Methodology in political theory,Critical epistemologies,politics of knowldge production,Decolonisation,Intersectionality 2.43 

cwayland@ed.ac.uk
Luba Zatsepina-McCreadie The Role of Nuclear Identities in Shaping Nuclear Decisions (US and USSR). Nuclear Weapons,Identity,Non-proliferation,Post-structuralism,Discourse Analysis,Gender,Cold War,IR and Security studies 3.12, Chrystal Macmillan Building 

L.Zatsepina@sms.ed.ac.uk, lzatsepi@exseed.ed.ac.uk