Skip to main content

School of Social and Political Science: Graduate school

Search

Social Anthropology

Name PhD Title Research Interests Contact Information
Dr. Joe Anderson Gun Culture,Gun Ownership,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body,California,National Belonging,San Diego,Phenomenology,United States,America,Anthropology of the United States,ethnography,Anthropology of ethics,gender Chrystal Macmillan Building 

s0824638@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sebastien Bachelet Morocco,political anthropology,Human rights,Migration studies,illegality,advocacy,creative arts  

Seb.Bachelet@ed.ac.uk
Imogen Bevan “Do you take sugar?” Value, consumption, and sugar politics in Scotland Medical Anthropology,Kinship and relatedness,Scotland,Anthropology of food,Anthropology of Britain,Food Studies,sociology of food,Family and kinship,tobacco,Smoking 2.45 

imogen.bevan@ed.ac.uk
Marina Fernández-Buil Anthropology of History,Anthropology of the Senses,Ethnomusicology,Historicity,Temporality,Embodiment,Performing Arts,Politics of Space,Memory,Cultural Rights,Culture Commodification,Heritage,Politics of Representation and Knowledge Production,Collaborative Ethnography,Hereditary Musicians,Western Rajasthan,South Asia  

s1682722@sms.ed.ac.uk
Leah Eades After the Eighth: An Ethnography of Abortion Liberalisation in Ireland medical anthropology,politics of reproduction,gender,social movements,medico-legal nexuses,authoritative and contested knowledge,medical humanities  

leah.eades [@] ed.ac.uk
Alex Gapud (Working Title): 'Historicities of Colonialism and the Slave Trade in Bristol" Memory,identity,England,Post-imperialism,Materiality,Politics of Memory,Past-presencing,Historical consciousness,heritage,colonial aphasia,Silence,Metropolitan Postcolonial Memory Chrystal Macmillan Building 
+44(0)7580 268376
A.Gapud(at)ed.ac.uk
Alysa Ghose Feminism,gender,Religious Identity,Witchcraft,femininity and masculinity,Intersectionality,spirits and the dead,Cuba,Latin America and the Caribbean,Power (domination,authority,legitimacy),personhood,ontology,spiritual development,intergenerational relationships,Kinship,knowledge production,empathy,intuition,African diaspora religions,embodiment and materiality,race Room 5.13, Chrystal Macmillan Building 

a.e.ghose@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo John Hagström Anthropology of non-religion,Secular humanism,Atheism,Secularism and secularity,Ethics and morality  

j.o.hagstrom@sms.ed.ac.uk
Maythe S.-W. Han 'Not just a dog': economies and ecologies of multispecies kinship between dogs and their humans (working title) kinship,ecology,ecological anthropology,creative ethnography,experimental research,visual anthropology,materiality,material culture,critical theory,linguistic anthropology,storytelling,experimental methodologies,friendship,relatedness,dogs,multispecies anthropology,more-than-human ethnography,critical whiteness studies  

maythe.han@ed.ac.uk
Lilian Kennedy, PhD ‘Still There’: Mediating personhood, temporality, and care in London Alzheimer’s Society support groups. Memory,Subjectivity and Personhood,Dementia,Care,Love,time and temporality,Family relationships,Kinship and relatedness,STS,GPS tracker technology,NHS,synchronicity  

lilian.kennedy@ed.ac.uk
Lucy Lowe Transnational Conceptions: Displacement, Maternity, and Onward Migration among Somalis in Nairobi, Kenya Refugee studies,Reproductive Health,Maternity,Medical Anthropology,Immigration and asylum policy,Humanitarianism,Legal anthropology,Somalia,Kenya,Urban anthropology,Fertility  

Mairi O'Gorman Values,Indian Ocean,Seychelles,Youth,Return / transnational migration,intimacy  

s1259259@sms.ed.ac.uk
Diego Malara Deceitful spirits the Ethiopian Orthodox Church,spirit possession,divination,art and healing,personhood,orthodoxy and heterodoxy,fasting and ascetism,passions and passiones  

diegomalara@hotmail.it
Hanna Mantila Psychiatric Practice in Hong Kong Anthropology of Pharmaceuticals,Transcultural psychiatry,Psychopharmaceuticals,Medical Anthropology,Biomedical knowledge(s), practices and technologies  

h.c.j.mantila@sms.ed.ac.uk
Q. Adam Marshall Cambodia,Phnom Penh,Religion And Ritual,Khmer Buddhism,Khmer Evangelical Christianity,belief,the 'heart',ethics,Space,place and the city,Subjectivity and Personhood,political anthropology  

q.a.marshall@sms.ed.ac.uk
Hannah McInnes-Dean Maternity,Paternity,Parents and parenthood,Gender and parenting,Sex & Gender,Reproductive Health,Kinship,Medical Anthropology,Childbearing,Perinatal care and support,Parental Leave  

h.j.mcinnes-dean@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alice Nagle Living Psalm 127: Gender, reproduction, and religious embodiment amongst American patriarchal pro-natalists. Performativity,Sexuality,Religious Identity,Childbearing,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body,Christianity,Comedy and Humour,gender,marriage,Religion And Ritual,Kinship,Anthropology of the United States,Subjectivity and Personhood,agency,East Africa,life cycles,ethics and ideology,pregnancy,Pregnancy Loss,social reproduction Crystal Macmillan Building 

a.e.nagle@sms.ed.ac.uk
Pia Noel Medical Anthropology,Global Mental Health,Nepal and the Himalaya,Medical pluralism,Development and Humanitarian Aid,Transcultural psychiatry,Anthropology of psychiatry,International development,Public health,Disability Studies 4.15 

Pia.Noel@ed.ac.uk
R. Elliott Oakley Opening the Waiwai ewto: Indigenous social and spatial relations in Guyana Environmental anthropology,Amazonia,Guyana,Indigenous Peoples,Conservation and development,Waiwai people,personhood  

elliott.oakley@gmail.com
Katarina Ockova 'Marriage, Kinship, Memory, and the Future among the Jewish Minority in Post-socialist Slovakia' (working title) Kinship and relatedness,History and Memory, especially as explored through intergenerational relations,Jewishness,Diaspora and transnationalism,Marriage and marital preferences,Community Belonging,Religion And Ritual,gender,Slovakia Chrystal Macmillan Building 

K.Ockova@sms.ed.ac.uk
Silvia Pergetti Anthropology of development,Materiality,Infrastructure,Imagination,Modernity,Solar energy,Energy transition,Distributed generation,India,Rural electrification,International development  

silvia.pergetti@ed.ac.uk
Janet Perkins Human rights-based approaches to maternal health in Bangladesh: Social reconstructions and consequences Policy construction,Human rights,Reproductive Maternal Newborn Child and Adolescent Health,International development,Medical Anthropology,Bangladesh,Gender and Development,organizations and institutions,Reproductive rights,Reproductive Health,Childbearing,Global Health Policy  

J.E.Perkins@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rishabh Raghavan Criminal Power: Energy Infrastructures and Legislation in Tamil Nadu Citizenship,Criminality,Bureaucracy,Police,Energy & Infrastructure,illegality,thermal power plants,Tamil Nadu  

rishabh.raghavan@ed.ac.uk
Lindsay Randall Gender,,Kinship,Islam,International development,Ethiopia,Marriage and polygamy,Anthropology of time,Feminist Theory,Political Anthropology,Ecnomic Anthropology,Anthropology of Childhood,Agency and Subjectivity  
+44 07397812730
lindsay.randall@ed.ac.uk
Eunsil Shin Disaster, Fukushima, Risk Perception, Sense and Sensibility, Corporeality, Water  

Eunsil.Shin@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Ting Ting Shum Practicing Public Health: Health Workers and Tuberculosis Control in Contemporary China China,Infectious Disease,Tuberculosis,Public Health Practice and Policy,Care,Subjectivity and Personhood,Value  

t.shum@sms.ed.ac.uk
Daniel Spotswood Animism,Personhood,Quechua,Peru,Mountains,Glaciers,Hierarchies,Pilgrimage,Sacrifice  

D.Spotswood@ed.ac.uk
Emma Teale "Revival of the Celtic Lands": Heritage and Prophecy in a Charismatic Missional Movement Christianity,Scotland,Prophecy,Spiritual territorialisation,Temporality,Celticism,Religious heritage,Leadership and Organisation  

Emma.Teale@ed.ac.uk
Iona Walker Reimagining AMR Beyond the Military Metaphor Biomedical knowledge(s),practices and technologies,Antimicrobial resistance,Russia,Post-Socialism,Interdisciplinary Research,Art,multispecies ethnography,microbes  

iona.walker@ed.ac.uk
Joel White Carceral Care: Friendship, Solidarity and Detention in the UK Border Regime political anthropology,immigration detention,care,solidarity,anti-racism,friendship,housing,Activism,Kinship,borders,carcerality,prison abolition,Immigration and asylum policy,work,social reproduction,trauma,care work,medical care,colonialism and imperialism  

jwhite33@ed.ac.uk
Catherine Whittaker Warrior Women of Central Mexico: The Cosmology of Gender Violence in a Changing World Gender,and Violence,Mexico,Mesoamerica,Nahuatl,cosmology,Intersectionality,Catholicism,Marginality,Religion And Ritual,Politics of Indigeneity,affect and emotion,love 5.13 Chrystal Macmillan Building 

s1355862@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Laura Winterton  

s1267542@sms.ed.ac.uk
Inna Yaneva-Toraman Faces of Shame, Masks of Development: Recognition and Oil Palm among the Baining of Papua New Guinea personhood,Melanesia,Material Culture,Masks,Religion And Ritual,Christianity,Economic anthropology,indigenous rights,landownership,Anthropology of development 5.16 Chrystal Macmillan Building 

i.yaneva-toraman@ed.ac.uk
Ritti Soncco Geographies of Tolerance: On the Visibility and Invisibility of Lyme Disease in Scotland (working title) Medical Anthropology,Veterinary Anthropology,Zoonoses,zoonotic disease control,Environmental anthropology,Science and technology,visual anthropology,anthropology of landscape,art,advocacy,patient rights,patient advocacy,Lyme disease,Scotland,coronavirus  

Ritti.Soncco@ed.ac.uk