Skip to main content

School of Social and Political Science: Graduate school


Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) Awards

The School of Social and Political Science is pleased to announce the availability of studentships funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) for the academic year 2019/20.

Full information on length of awards, eligibility and pathways is available on the Scottish Graduate School of Social Science (SGSSS) studentship pages.

Please note that applicants must be students from the UK or EU* countries, and satisfy the eligibility criteria of the ESRC. Please read this criteria carefully.

*EU applicants from outwith the UK and who have not been resident in the UK for the three years prior to the start of the studentship are only eligible for a fees-only award.

How to Apply

If you wish to apply for an ESRC award to be held at the School of Social and Political Science, you should contact the relevant Subject Area Postgraduate Advisor/Pathway Representative as soon as possible to discuss your proposal and your interest in the ESRC awards. They can also help identify a suitable supervisor.  

Information on our full range of research programmes, including how to contact the relevant Postgraduate Advisor/Pathway Representative, is available here:

Note that ESRC scholarships can be offered as MSc plus PhD (1+3) or PhD (+3) awards depending on the experience of the applicant. More information is available here.

Application Process

The application process for ESRC awards has a number of stages and deadlines, as follows:

* Prior to Tuesday 10 December 2019 | Submit your application for admission to the University of Edinburgh programme of study; apply online for the appropriate programme here. You will then receive a student University number (UUN) and a password, which will give you access to the University's Applicant Hub. Note - current students do not need to complete this stage.

* Prior to Friday 10 January 2020 | Work on and submit your funding application to the Scottish Graduate School of Social Science (SGSSS) GradHub. Guidance on registration to the GradHub, how to submit your funding application, and the required documents can be found here. Note - both new applicants and current students must complete this stage.

It is strongly advised that you contact the Postgraduate Advisor/Pathway Representative to discuss your application well in advance of this deadline. These are:

* Language-Based Area Studies and International Development - Jamie Cross

* Politics and International Relations (PIR) - Wilfried Swenden

* Science, Technology and Innovation Studies and Information and Communication Studies - Pablo Schyfter

* Social Anthropology - Jonathan Spencer

* Social Work and Social Policy - Daniel Clegg

* Sociology - Liliana Riga

The award decision will be communicated to applicants by  May 2020.

This is just an overview of the application process, for full details and guidance notes please see the Scottish Graduate School of Social Science (SGSSS) website:

SGSSS welcomes applications from full-time PhD students in their first year of study, or part-time PhD students in their second year. These current students need only to complete the GradHub part of the application process.

white image