Graduate school

Our Students

Name PhD Title Research Interests Contact Information
Gavin Barber Political parties,Comparative European Politics,Organisation Studies G.R.Barber@sms.ed.ac.uk
Francesca Batzella European Union,European Integration,EU Energy Policy,EU external relations,European Commission,Academic teaching f.batzella@herts.ac.uk
Emilia Belknap Gender & International Relations,Gender Theory,gender and political institutions,Scottish Politics,Nationalism and National Identity,Devolution and constitutional change in the UK,Critical Feminism,Feminist Theories and Research Practices,North Korea,Migration and development,Chinese Foreign Policy,Intrastate Migration Policy,women and politics Emilia.Belknap@ed.ac.uk
Sayra van den Berg peacebuilding,Transitional justice,Peace and conflict S.VandenBerg@ed.ac.uk
Francesco Bertoldi Territorial politics,Nationalism and Devolution,Elections,Ethnic conflict,Northern Ireland,Ireland,Power-sharing agreements,Electoral Systems in Divided Societies,Identity Politics,Social Identity Theory,Discourse Analysis,Ethnicity and Identity f.bertoldi@sms.ed.ac.uk
Benedikt Buechel Political Theory,Territorial Rights,Immigration,Global Justice,International Relations Benedikt.Buechel@ed.ac.uk
Thomas Charman Gender,gender and international relations,gender based violence,sexual violence,Gender and conflict,Masculinities,Militarised Masculinities,Sexual violence against men,Feminism,Poststructuralism,Discourse Analysis,Frame Analysis tcharman@exseed.ed.ac.uk, s1460585@sms.ed.ac.uk
Christina Dineen Contemporary political theory,Political philosophy,Applied ethics,Ethics and morality,Resource allocation,Well-being,Bioethics Doctoral Researcher
christina.dineen@ed.ac.uk
Yazmin Morlet Corti privacy,online privacy,Cyberspace as political space,Political Culture,policy prefrences,public policy,Comparative Politics,Big Data Analytics,big data,Science and technology,data protection,behaviour,attitudes,Quantitative Analysis Yazmin.Morlet@ed.ac.uk
Cleo Davies International Organisations,European studies,The politics of financial market supervision and regulation,International Political Economy cleo.davies@ed.ac.uk
Kathy Dodworth Theories of Legitimacy,Social capital,Foucault,state-society relations,NGOs and Development,Non-state actors,Bourdieu,Ethnography,Tanzania,African studies kathy.dodworth@ed.ac.uk
Adrian Favero Europeanization,European Union,Identity formation,Globalizationsation and personal life,urban sociology,identity politics,Central Eastern Europe A.Favero@ed.ac.uk
Louis Fletcher History of International Political Thought,Genealogical Critique,Political Realism,Critical Theory,Democratic Peace,Philosophy of History,Peace Research,Utopianism louis.fletcher@ed.ac.uk
Barbara Gaweda gender,post-communism,post-Soviet politics,Central Eastern Europe,Feminism,Feminist institutionalism,Ukraine,Discourse Theory,Feminist Research,Postcolonialism,Europeanization,nationalism,Inequality,Feminist theory/research,Sexuality,discourse analysis,Gender & intersectionality B.J.Gaweda@sms.ed.ac.uk
Victor Gigleux International Relations,Foreign Policy,Small States,European studies,International peace-keeping operations,EU external relations,Role Theory,Foreign Policy Analysis V.A.Gigleux@sms.ed.ac.uk
Omar Alejandro Loera-Gonzalez Mexico,Role Theory,Foreign Policy,Domestic sources of Foreign Policy,Geopolitics,Mexico-U.S. relations,Autonomy in Foreign Policy,the structure/agency problem o.loera@ed.ac.uk
Alice Hague Environment,Climate change,political theology,community activism,faith-based activism,advocacy,mobilisation,environmental politics,environmental ethics,UK,USA,Sweden alice.hague(at)ed.ac.uk
No Photo
Philipp Heinrich European Identities, Public Attachment to the EU, Public Attitudes, Experimental Approaches philipp.heinrich@ed.ac.uk
Yukinori Iwaki Social and Political Theory,Political Philosophy,Global justice,poverty,Environment,labour,time,Climate change s1000816@sms.ed.ac.uk
Patrick Jahnke Socially Responsible Investment (SRI),Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR),International Political Economy,Stakeholder Theory,Financial Intermediation,Corporate Governance,Fiduciary Capitalism,Agency Theory,Shareholder Voting Rights +44 (0) 7796 174778
p.d.jahnke@sms.ed.ac.uk
Nicole Koenig nicole.koenig1@gmail.com
Hsinyen Lai Middle East Politics,Historical sociology,Gramsci and Marxist Theory,ideas and foreign policy,the Gulf region,the Arab Left s1264771@sms.ed.ac.uk
Benjamin Leruth European Integration,European Union,British Politics,Comparative Politics,Regionalism,Nordic Politics b.j.leruth@kent.ac.uk
Siqi Li +44(0)7598465990
S1266509@sms.ed.ac.uk
Yue Liu International Relations,Regional Security,International Law of the Sea,Maritime Disputes s1619342@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ritumbra Manuvie Climate change Migration,Governance,Public Policy,Institutions and institutional change,South Asia,Borderlands,Wicked Problems s0978558@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sissela Matzner Foreign Policy,Political parties,Responsibility,Narratives,Humanitarianism,Humanitarian intervention,Political violence,Conflict
Oscar Moreno-Martinez Technology and Innovation Studies,Colombian Armed Conflict,Military-Technical Change,Insurgency & Counter-Insurgency,United States Foreign Security Policy,War Studies oscar.moreno@ed.ac.uk
Wassim Mroue Middle East Politics,IR and Middle East,Sectarianism s1675407@sms.ed.ac.uk
Cera Murtagh Post-conflict societies,Peace and conflict,Ethnicity and Identity,Nationalism and National Identity,Political parties,Social movements,gender politics 0131 651 3785
c.e.murtagh@sms.ed.ac.uk
Nataliya Muzyka EU external relations,EU-third countries interactions,Europeanization,identity politics,European Union,International Relations,Ukraine,National Identity,Poland,transition studies,post-Soviet politics,Social network analysis,Elites n.muzyka@sms.ed.ac.uk
Tanita Jill Poeggel Immigration and asylum policy,political theory,asylum seekers and refugees,critical migration research,Migration and citizenship,Social movements,critical theory,national identity,Memory politics s1655289@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alexandra Remond Britain,Canada,federal states,identity politics,nationalism,Politics,Comparative Politics,British-EU politics,Scotland,Political parties,Territorial Politics,Nationalism,Nationalism and National Identity,Scottish Independence Referendum,Quebec-Scotland comparisons,Political identities and citizenship,Election campaigning,Electoral Systems in Divided Societies,Electoral and Referendum behaviour,Montenegro,the Balkans a.remond@ed.ac.uk
No Photo
Sofiane Sahnoun identity politics,national identity,Citizenship and belonging 07778144310
s1368857@sms.ed.ac.uk
Anthony Salamone European integration,European Union,British politics,UK's EU relations,UK foreign policy,Scottish politics,Europeanisation,Devolution,Public opinion,Public policy,Comparative politics A.M.Salamone@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Scott energy politics,energy security,business regulation,environmental politics,Public policy,Comparative Politics,policy networks,policy community,Politics of oil s0823307@sms.ed.ac.uk
Judith Sijstermans Political parties,European Union,Policy learning,Europeanization,Nationalism,Regionalism,Socialization,Policy networks,Policy transfer,Multi-level governance,British Politics judith.sijstermans@ed.ac.uk
Lukas Slothuus Political theory,Political philosophy,Marxism,Critical theory,Resistance,Contentious politics Lukas.Slothuus@ed.ac.uk
Saskia Smellie Politics of Migration and Asylum Policy,Responsibility-Sharing,European Union,Foreign Policy,Role Theory 07530 882515
Saskia.Smellie@ed.ac.uk
No Photo
Yifang Sun political psychology,US foreign policy,Foreign Policy Analysis s1563324@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo
Cleo Davies
Consuelo Thiers political psychology,Foreign Policy Analysis,Latin American Foreign Policies,At-a-distance personality assessment of political leaders +44 (0) 749 156 0106
consuelo.thiers@ed.ac.uk
Larissa Toal Feminism,Nationalism,women's and social movements,Critical Discourse Analysis,Gender and conflict s1269429@sms.ed.ac.uk
Patrick Utz Territorial politics,Federalism,Nationalism and Devolution,Party politics,Multi-level party politics,European Union,Europeanization,Language policy,Consociationalism patrick.utz@ed.ac.uk
Ingmar Versolmann European Union,EU Energy Policy,New Institutionalism,EU external relations,European Intergration,Energy politics,Energy security +44 (0) 778 774 4004
I.Versolmann@sms.ed.ac.uk
Gisli Vogler political theory,Social theory,Political memory and historical injustice,Theories of democracy,Power,the structure/agency problem,Critical Social and Political Theory s1668190@sms.ed.ac.uk
Cat Wayland Political Theory,Political Philosophy,Feminist Theory,Gender and Intersectionality,Critical Theory,Subjectivity and Politics of the Self,Theories of Oppression and Complicity,Neoliberalism and subjectivity,Resistance and solidarity s1666266@sms.ed.ac.uk
Luba Zatsepina-McCreadie Nuclear Weapons,Identity,Non-proliferation,Post-structuralism,Discourse Analysis,Gender,Cold War,IR and Security studies L.Zatsepina@sms.ed.ac.uk, lzatsepi@exseed.ed.ac.uk