Calendar

Political Theory Research Group 2018/19

Date / Time Details Where

AUTUMN SEMESTER 2018

Unless otherwise specified these take place 3-4.30pm in Room 2.15 Chrystal Macmillan Building, George Square, Edinburgh

PAPERS WILL BE PRECIRCULATED FOR READING IN ADVANCE & WILL NOT BE PRESENTED IN FULL DURING THE SEMINAR

Week 1 ( Wed 19 Sept) (3.15 18 Buccleuch Place)

Dr Mihaela Mihai, PIR, UoE

The ‘Banal’ Resister’s Silences: Impurity, Complicity, Ambivalence

Week 2 (Wed 26 Sept)

Professor Tim Hayward, PIR, UoE

Humanitarian intervention and intellectual due diligence

Week 3 (**LUNCH SEMINAR: 1pm, Thursday 4 Oct, 3.15 18 Buccleuch Place**)

Professor Robert E. Goodin, Australian National University

Structures of Complicity:

Consumers, Producers, Suppliers

Week 4 (Wed 10 Oct)

Dr Kieran Oberman, PIR, UoE

Border Rescue

Week 5 (Wed 17 Oct)

[No Seminar as Philosophy have a PTRG-relevant guest speaker: James Harris on Political Obligation.]

Week 6 (Wed 24 Oct)

Dr Elizabeth Cripps, PIR, UoE

Collective Harm and Individual Duties Revisited

Week 7 (Wed 31 Oct)

[No seminar: PTRG group meeting]

Week 8 (Wed 7 Nov) (3.15 18 Buccleuch Place)

Dr Maggie O’Brian, Philosophy, UoE

Easy For You To Say

Week 9 (Wed 14 Nov)

Dr Simon Hope, University of Stirling

Two Friendly Doubts about ‘Political Realism’

Week 10 (Wed 21 Nov)

Dr Cormac Mac Amhlaigh, Law, UoE

Bernard Williams & Political Constitutionalism

Week 11 (Wed 28 Nov)

Dr Mathias Thaler, PIR, UoE

Bleak Dreams, not Nightmares: Critical Dystopias and the Necessity of Melancholic Hope

Week 12 (Wed 5 Dec) (3.15 18 Buccleuch Place)

Dr Philip Cook, PIR, UoE

TBC

**NOTE: Please let the convener know in advance if you intend to attend Prof Goodin’s seminar on 4 Oct (numbers limited to 20).

Events