Skip to main content

School of Social and Political Science: Research

Search

Research Office

The aim of the Research Office is to encourage research activity and maximise support for research activity by complementing support available elsewhere in the University and by supporting the implementation of the research strategy at the direction of the SSPS Director of Research and the Research and Research Ethics & Integrity Committee.

The research office has three teams aligned to support our core research infrastructure, research and knowledge exchange and impact activities and project development and management. 

Research Office contacts

For all general enquiries please email ssps.research@ed.ac.uk

For Open Access enquiries or publications please email OpenAccess.SSPS@ed.ac.uk

Research Office Staff:

Name Title Contact
Susie Ballentyne

Deputy Director of Professional Services

Lead manger for enquiries relating to REF, PURE, research careers, training and development; research committe;  IT and estates; research centres;  visitors; research data and information management; statutory compliance.

Susie.ballentyne@ed.ac.uk
Michelle O'Hara

Research Data & Information Officer

Support for: Open Access, Research Data Management, Data Management Planning, PURE enquiries.

Michelle.O'Hara@ed.ac.uk
Chris Berry

Impact and KE Administrative Officer

Lead manager for enquiries relating to knowledge exchange and impact; internal and external research communications; networking and partnership/business development.

Chris.berry@ed.ac.uk
Helene Frossling Events and Dissemination Officer Helene.frossling@ed.ac.uk
Nick Bibby Research Press and Media Officer Nick.Bibby@ed.ac.uk
Clare de Mowbray Research Projects Officer c.demowbray@ed.ac.uk
Caroline Laffey

Portfolio Manager 

Lead manager for enquiries relating to pre and post award support;  research collaboration and contracts ; project management; research/project expenditure and income;  activity reporting;  research ethics and integrity.

caroline.laffey@ed.ac.uk

Tel 506355

Jo Wielgo Senior Research Projects Administrator (Pre-award)  Joanna.Wielgo@ed.ac.uk
Dr. Karen Veitch Research Projects Administrator (Pre-Award and general enquiries) karen.veitch@ed.ac.uk
Eirini Souri Senior Research Projects Administrator (post-award)
European Projects specialist
Post-Award support: Politics & International Relations, Social Policy, and Social Work
Eirini.souri@ed.ac.uk
Anne Valentine STIS Research Administrator
Post-Award support: STIS
a.valentine@ed.ac.uk
Jenni Benyon Research Projects Administrator (post-award)
Post-Award support: Sociology, Social Anthropology, Centre for African Studies, Centre of South Asian Studies
Jenni.Benyon@ed.ac.uk
TBC

Research Projects Administrator (post-award) 

To be recruited

Frances Burgess Research Secretary to Prof Donald Mackenzie frances.j.burgess@ed.ac.uk

Research Support Office

RSO (Research Support Office) is the University’s central office for research support and hosts a dedicated European policy and funding team and a Contracts Office together with the college's dedicated Knowledge Exchange Office.  Staff there liaise with schools to provide costings for research grants, submit grant applications on behalf of our staff, liaise with funders, and organise contracts on behalf of academic staff. There is also 

Edinburgh Research and Innovation (ERI)

ERI offers a range of range of industry engagement and research commercialisation services for the University's academic community.  In particular ERI can provide support to build business relationships and to support the bid and management of consultancy opportunities.

Resources and Services (for SSPS Staff)

All information pertaining to the Research Office resources and services can be found here (EASE login required).

Research Office