Skip to main content

School of Social and Political Science: Staff profiles

Search

Staff Profiles

Centre of African Studies

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Gerhard Anders Principal Investigator of the project 'Accountability through Practical Norms: Civil Service Reform in Africa from Below' funded by the British Academy and DfID; Lecturer in African Studies - International Development Anthropology of development,Anthropology of Law,International development,International Organisations,International criminal justice,Transitional justice,Law Anthropology, institutions and State policies,Law and Development 4.06 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 3178
Gerhard.Anders@ed.ac.uk
Barbara Bompani Director of the Centre of African Studies; Reader in Africa & International Development; Research Associate at the African Centre for Migration & Society (ACMS), the University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg. African Christianity, Religion and Politics, Religion and Development, Faith-based organisations (FBOs), Religion and Sexuality, LGBTI rights in Africa, public morality, Ugandan Pentecostalism, South African politics. 4.04 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3891
B.Bompani@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Bowman Lecturer in African Development Energy & Infrastructure,privatisation,industrial policy,Financialization,Science and technology for development,agricultural development,accounting,Mining and the extractive industries 3.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1617
andrew.bowman@ed.ac.uk
Deborah Bryceson Honorary Fellow settlement,urban economies,urban growth,social dynamics,occupational change,artisanal mining,changing nature of the family,transnational families,age and gender differentiation,women's employment patterns,food marketing,agricultural policy,famine and food insecurity,creole societies,work cultures,livelihoods,mobility,migration,labour,agrarian change,de-agrarianization  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 1865 292801
dfbryceson@bryceson.net
Sidy Cissokho Postdoctoral Research Fellow ethnography,International Relations,norm diffusion,Policy construction,Political representation,State formation,privatisation,Roads and infrastructure,trade unions,Senegal 4.02 
21 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0) 131 6511 790
Sidy.Cissokho@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Jane Cooper-Knock Lecturer in International Development (CAS and Anthropology) Access to justice,Social Justice,Criminal Justice,Civil Justice,civil society,police,security,African security,African studies,South African politics,South Africa 4.30 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3936
s.j.cooperknock@ed.ac.uk
Maggie Dwyer Research Fellow African politics,militaries,Security Studies,International Relations,peacekeeping,Social media,West Africa,Elections,African studies 4.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 5076
M.Dwyer@ed.ac.uk
Jean-Benoit Falisse Lecturer in Africa and International Development African Great Lakes region,Health policy,Access to justice,Access to education,Migration and development,Fragile states,Media and conflict 4.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 1632
jb.falisse@ed.ac.uk
Hazel Gray Lecturer in African Studies and Development 5.26 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)1316515534
Hazel.Gray@ed.ac.uk
Valeria Izzi Honorary Fellow Youth,International development,political economy of development,job creation,peacebuilding,conflict sensitive approaches to development,evidence-based development  valeria.izzi@ed.ac.uk
Astrid Jamar Transitional justice,Peace and conflict,Human rights,Peace and reconciliation processes,Truth Commissions,Gacaca Courts,International cooperation and development aid,Political settlements,Anthropology of development,Legal anthropology,Transitional Justice Practitioners,African Great Lakes region,Rwanda,Burundi,Emotions and Knowledge Production in War-Affected Research Environments  15 Buccleuch Place
Astrid.Jamar@ed.ac.uk
Chisomo Kalinga Wellcome Trust Medical Humanities Fellow African Print and Oral Literature,Oral storytelling forms and traditions,Medical Humanities,Health & Human Rights,Malawiana culture and literature,Illness narratives,Narrative Medicine,Artistic representations of illness,wellbeing and health,Disease as Metaphor,The sick body G.3 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44(0)1316 515118
Chisomo.Kalinga@ed.ac.uk
George Hamandishe Karekwaivanane Lecturer in African Studies nationalism and the post-colonial state in Africa,Zimbabwe,Colonial/imperial history,legal history,history of the legal profession,Human rights,digital research,digital publics and counterpublics,Digital humanities,Media and society,new media 4.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3206
G.karekwaivanane@ed.ac.uk
Kenneth King Professor Emeritus  +44 (0)1875 340 418
Kenneth.King@ed.ac.uk
Pete Kingsley Research and Teaching Fellow Participation,Africa,Global Health Policy,Health and Development,Sociology of health and illness,Anthropology of Love,Nigeria,South Sudan 4.13 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
pete.kingsley@ed.ac.uk
Hugh Lamarque Research Fellow African security,ethnography,Regionalism,governance,Policing,state-society relations,Territorial Politics,Non-state actors Rm. 4.02 
21 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)7948385942
hugh.lamarque@ed.ac.uk
Jose-Maria Munoz Lecturer in African Studies & International Development International development,Political and economic anthropology,Law and society,Taxation and citizenship,Borderlands,Infrastructure,West and Central Africa,Cameroon 4F1, Room 4.02 
21 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0) 131 650 6970
j.munoz@ed.ac.uk
Zoe Marks Chancellor's Fellow (Lecturer) Peace and conflict,Rebellion and civil war,Gender and Development,Gender and Violence,International development,African studies,IR and Security studies,Comparative Politics 4.07 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 8265
zoe.marks@ed.ac.uk
Louise McKenzie Subject Academic Support Officer - CAS 6.16 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3878
Louise.McKenzie@ed.ac.uk
Albert Mkony Tutor, Researcher and Language Assistant - African Studies and International Politics  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
Albert.Mkony@ed.ac.uk
Thomas Molony Senior Lecturer in African Studies African elections,African security,African politics,Tanzania,Kenya,East Africa,Swahili,Research methods in Africa,African informal economies,Mobile phones in Africa,ICT in Africa,African Studies,African history,African biography,Social media 4.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6976
Thomas.Molony@ed.ac.uk
Paul Nugent Professor of Comparative African History (School of History, Classics and Archaeology) and Professor in African Studies (School of Social and Political Science), 2005-2017 African borderlands,Wine history,Comparative African History,Taxation,African militaries and bureaucracies,Colonial/imperial history,Slavery and Slave Trade,Ghana politics and history,Trade and transport Room 4.01, 4F1 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 3879
Paul.Nugent@ed.ac.uk
Rick Rohde Research Fellow and Co-investigator for the AHRC funded project focussing on the historical ecologies of the Namib and intangible cultural heritage of western Namibia. Political ecology,Land reform,Politics of climate change science,Historical ecology,Visual ethnography  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
0131 332 4147 and 01599 235023
Rick.Rohde@ed.ac.uk
James Smith Vice Principal International; Professor of African and Development Studies African development,Science,technology and development,Global health policy,Neglected Zoonotic and Tropical Diseases,anthropology of development 4.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4321
James.Smith@ed.ac.uk
Sam Spiegel Senior Lecturer in International Development and Director of Research, Centre of African Studies B.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
19 George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 3066
sam.spiegel@ed.ac.uk
Patrycja Stys Post-conflict reconstruction (state and social),Armed conflict,Forced migration,Informal economies and social innovation,Hybrid governance,African Studies,Comparative Politics,Refugee Studies,International Development,Security Studies  patrycja.stys@ed.ac.uk
Emma Michelle Taylor Research Fellow, Investigating Networks of Zoonosis Innovation (INZI) project Health politics,International development,Global Health Policy,Ugandan Healthcare and development,Global Health,Health Policy in Developing Countries,Health and Development,health insurance,Development aid,Aid Effectiveness,Control of neglected zoonotic and tropical diseases,Neglected diseases and zoonoses 4.13 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
E.M.Taylor@ed.ac.uk
Kate Wright Chancellor's Fellow in the Cultural and Creative Industries Co-Investigator on AHRC Humanitarian Journalism project Media,Global justice,Humanitarian intervention,Norms,organizations and institutions,Rights,digital publics and counterpublics B.05 
21 George Square
0131 651 5592
Kate.Wright@ed.ac.uk
Wolfgang Zeller Senior Research Fellow - African Governance and Space project (AFRIGOS) political anthropology,political geography,African borderlands,secessionism,border towns,Policing,vigilantism,smuggling,transport corridors,Mineral extraction,Namibia,Zambia,Lozi kingdom,Uganda,port cities,'traditional' authority,Roads and infrastructure 4.02 
21 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 651 3134
wolfgang.zeller@ed.ac.uk