Skip to main content

School of Social and Political Science: Staff profiles

Search

Staff Profiles

Centre of African Studies

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Gerhard Anders Senior Lecturer in African Studies and International Development Anthropology of development,Anthropology of Law,International criminal justice,Transitional justice,Law Anthropology, institutions and State policies,Law and Development 4.07 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 3178
Gerhard.Anders@ed.ac.uk
Barbara Bompani Reader in Africa & International Development;Research Associate at the African Centre for Migration & Society (ACMS), the University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg. African Christianity, Religion and Politics, Religion and Development, Faith-based organisations (FBOs), Religion and Sexuality, LGBTI rights in Africa, public morality, Ugandan Pentecostalism, South African politics. 1.08 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3891
B.Bompani@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Bowman Lecturer in Africa and International Development economic development,Mining and the extractive industries;,agricultural development,Energy & Infrastructure,Political economy,Science,technology and development,Global Value Chains,industrial policy 2.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1617
andrew.bowman@ed.ac.uk
Deborah Bryceson Honorary Fellow settlement,urban economies,urban growth,social dynamics,occupational change,artisanal mining,changing nature of the family,transnational families,age and gender differentiation,women's employment patterns,food marketing,agricultural policy,famine and food insecurity,creole societies,work cultures,livelihoods,mobility,migration,labour,agrarian change,de-agrarianization  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 1865 292801
dfbryceson@bryceson.net
SJ Cooper-Knock Lecturer in International Development (CAS and Anthropology) Access to justice,Social Justice,Criminal Justice,Civil Justice,civil society,police,security,African security,African studies,South African politics,South Africa 4.30 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3936
s.j.cooperknock@ed.ac.uk
Rama Salla Dieng Lecturer in African Studies and International Development, Programme Director MSc Africa and International Development Political economy of agrarian transformation,Land,Capital and Labour,Gender and Development,African economies,African feminisms,Social Reproduction 4.06 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1636
rdieng@ed.ac.uk
Kevin Donovan Lecturer African history,Political and economic anthropology,STS 4.06 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
kevin.donovan@ed.ac.uk
Maggie Dwyer Lecturer in Africa and International Development African politics,International Relations,peacekeeping,Social media,West Africa,African security,International development,African studies,militaries 4.14 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 5076
M.Dwyer@ed.ac.uk
Jean-Benoit Falisse Lecturer in Africa and International Development African Great Lakes region,Health policy,Access to justice,Access to education,Migration and development,Fragile states,Media and conflict 4.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 1632
jb.falisse@ed.ac.uk
Hazel Gray Lecturer in African Studies and Development 5.26 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)1316515534
Hazel.Gray@ed.ac.uk
Akin Iwilade Lecturer in African Studies Natural Resource Politics and Governance,Social Anthropology of Youth,Nigerian Politics and Society,Regional Security in West Africa 4.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
a.iwilade@ed.ac.uk
Valeria Izzi Honorary Fellow Youth,International development,political economy of development,job creation,peacebuilding,conflict sensitive approaches to development,evidence-based development  valeria.izzi@ed.ac.uk
Astrid Jamar Transitional justice,Peace and conflict,Human rights,Peace and reconciliation processes,Truth Commissions,Gacaca Courts,International cooperation and development aid,Political settlements,Anthropology of development,Legal anthropology,Transitional Justice Practitioners,African Great Lakes region,Rwanda,Burundi,Emotions and Knowledge Production in War-Affected Research Environments  15 Buccleuch Place
Astrid.Jamar@ed.ac.uk
George Hamandishe Karekwaivanane Lecturer in African Studies, Programme Director MSc in African Studies nationalism and the post-colonial state in Africa,Zimbabwe,Colonial/imperial history,legal history,history of the legal profession,Human rights,digital research,digital publics and counterpublics,Digital humanities,Media and society,new media 4.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3206
G.karekwaivanane@ed.ac.uk
Kenneth King Professor Emeritus  +44 (0)1875 340 418
Kenneth.King@ed.ac.uk
Pete Kingsley Student Development Coordinator, Mastercard Foundation Scholars Program 4.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4082
pete.kingsley@ed.ac.uk
Hugh Lamarque Research Fellow African security,ethnography,Regionalism,governance,Policing,state-society relations,Territorial Politics,Non-state actors Rm. 4.04 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)7948385942
hugh.lamarque@ed.ac.uk
Jose-Maria Munoz Senior Lecturer in African Studies & International Development Political and economic anthropology,Law and society,Taxation and citizenship,Borderlands,Infrastructure,West and Central Africa,Cameroon 2.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 650 6970
j.munoz@ed.ac.uk
Albert Mkony Researcher & Senior Tutor  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
Albert.Mkony@ed.ac.uk
Thomas Molony Senior Lecturer in African Studies & Director, Centre of African Studies (CAS) African elections,African security,African politics,Tanzania,Kenya,East Africa,Swahili,Research methods in Africa,African informal economies,Mobile phones in Africa,ICT in Africa,African Studies,African history,African biography,Social media 4.04 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6976
Thomas.Molony@ed.ac.uk
Rebecca Moody Subject Academic Support Officer (Centre of African Studies) 6.16 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3878
Rebecca.Moody@ed.ac.uk
Paul Nugent Professor of Comparative African History (School of History, Classics and Archaeology) & African Studies (School of Social and Political Science) African borderlands,Wine history,Comparative African History,African militaries and bureaucracies,Colonial/imperial history,Slavery and Slave Trade,Ghana politics and history,Trade and transport,Customs and Taxation Room 4.01, 4F1 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 3879
Paul.Nugent@ed.ac.uk
James Smith Vice Principal International; Professor of African and Development Studies African development,Science,technology and development,Global health policy,Neglected Zoonotic and Tropical Diseases,anthropology of development 4.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4321
James.Smith@ed.ac.uk
Sam Spiegel Senior Lecturer in International Development B.02 
19 George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 3066
sam.spiegel@ed.ac.uk
Patrycja Stys Post-conflict reconstruction (state and social),Armed conflict,Forced migration,Informal economies and social innovation,Hybrid governance,African Studies,Comparative Politics,Refugee Studies,International Development,Security Studies  patrycja.stys@ed.ac.uk
Kate Symons Career Development Fellow - International Development International development,Political ecology,Extractive industries and resource governance,Conservation and development,blockchain 4.13 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
K.Symons@ed.ac.uk
Wolfgang Zeller Senior Research Fellow - African Governance and Space project (AFRIGOS) political anthropology,political geography,African borderlands,secessionism,border towns,Policing,vigilantism,smuggling,transport corridors,Mineral extraction,Namibia,Zambia,Lozi kingdom,Uganda,port cities,'traditional' authority,Roads and infrastructure 4.04 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 651 3134
wolfgang.zeller@ed.ac.uk