Skip to main content

School of Social and Political Science: Staff profiles

Search

Staff Profiles

Politics and International Relations

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Lucy Abbott Lecturer in Politics and International Relations Regionalism,Public Sphere,The Gulf States,Process Tracing,International Relations,Democratic Theory 3.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 6508254
Lucy.Abbott@ed.ac.uk
Jamie Allinson Senior Lecturer Historical sociology,International Relations,International theory,Marxism,Middle East Politics,political theory,Revolutions Rm. B25 
19 George Square
+44 (0)131 650 9925
J.Allinson@ed.ac.uk
Mark Aspinwall Honorary Fellow Mexico,Mexican politics,Political economy of North America,Political economy,Institutions and institutional change,norm diffusion,governance,development,civil society  58 George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1730
Mark.Aspinwall@ed.ac.uk
Karlo Basta Lecturer Comparative politics,nationalism and national identity,ethnic conflict,state theory,institutionalism and institutional symbolism,federalism,secession,business & politics,time & events,mobilization,European politics,interpretivism,discourse analysis,process-tracing 3.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6372
Karlo.Basta@ed.ac.uk
Shaun Bevan Senior Lecturer in Quantitative Political Science Agenda-Setting,Public policy,interest groups,Public Opinion,political behaviour,Time Series Analysis,Event History Analysis,Measurement 2.13B Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 650 4128
Shaun.Bevan@ed.ac.uk
Andrea Birdsall Senior Lecturer in International Relations Human rights,International Relations,International Law & International Relations,Humanitarian intervention,Norms,Counterterrorism 4.25 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 650 6974
a.birdsall@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Nick Bland Visiting Professor, School of Social and Political Sciences; What Works Scotland  nick.bland@ed.ac.uk
Elizabeth Bomberg Professor of Environmental Politics Environment,Sustainability,shale governance,community energy,mobilization 3.06 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4248
e.bomberg@ed.ac.uk
Christina Boswell Dean of Research, College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences Political Sociology,Use of Research in Policy,Immigration and asylum policy,Politics of immigration,Public policy 3.21 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 9924
Christina.Boswell@ed.ac.uk
Caroline Bouchard Research Fellow - MERCURY 4.03, 34 Buccleuch Place 
+44(0)131 650 4266
c.bouchard@ed.ac.uk
Julia Calvert Lecturer in Political Economy International political economy,International Law & International Relations,Political Sociology,International development,trade,foreign investment,investor-state dispute settlement,Extractive industries and resource governance,Latin America,Canadian foreign economic policy 3.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 4752
Julia.calvert@ed.ac.uk
Daniel Cetrà Research Fellow at the Centre on Constitutional Change Nations and Nationalism,Territorial Politics,Political Liberalism and Minority Rights,The Politics of Language,Catalonia 3.06 St John's Land
Holyrood Road
+44 (0)131 651 4736
d.cetra@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Oana Ciobanu Research Fellow  +44 (0)131 651 1316
Oana.Ciobanu@ed.ac.uk
Alan Convery Senior Lecturer in Politics Britain,Multi-level party politics,British Politics,Conservative Party,Conservative politics,Scottish Politics,Welsh politics 2.14 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 8255
Alan.Convery@ed.ac.uk
Philip Cook Senior Lecturer Political Philosophy,Social Justice,Education and Schools,Children and Childhood,Family Relationships,Children and Democracy,Contractualism,Children and Young People,Child Labour,Applied ethics,the philosophy of social sciences,Egalitarianism 3.29 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 651 1577
Philip.Cook@ed.ac.uk
Coree Brown Swan Teaching Fellow; Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Centre on Constitutional Change nationalism,Scotland,Flanders,Scottish Independence Referendum,Brexit,intergovernmental relations 3.06 St John's Land
c.brownswan@ed.ac.uk
Laura Cram Professor of European Politics and Director of NRLabs Neuropolitics Research European public policy,European Identity,Neuropolitics of identity,Neuropolitics of public policy,experimental research,fMRI studies,physiological studies,behavioural games,identity triggers,national identity,symbols,Brexit processes, Scotland and EU Room 2 02, Flat 2F2 
18 Buccleuch Place
0131 651 5571
Laura.Cram@ed.ac.uk
Elizabeth Cripps Senior Lecturer in Political Theory Climate change ethics,Climate justice,Collective responsibility,Justice and non-human animals,Population and justice,Political theory,Political philosophy,Justice and environment,Parental duties Rm 3.30 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 651 1948
elizabeth.cripps@ed.ac.uk
Chad Damro Senior Lecturer of Politics and IR EU external relations,European Union,International Relations,International Political Economy,Comparative Politics,Transatlantic Relations,Regulatory Politics Room 2.02, 21 George Square 
+44 (0)131 650 6698
Chad.Damro@ed.ac.uk
Jean-Francois Daoust Lecturer political behaviour,Public opinion and Political attitudes,Research methods,Election campaigning,Political parties,Canada/Quebec,Comparative Politics,nationalism 3.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
jf.daoust@ed.ac.uk
Sara Rich Dorman Senior Lecturer in African Politics African Politics,nationalism and the post-colonial state in Africa,Citizenship and belonging,Elections,State formation 4.08 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4239
Sara.Dorman@ed.ac.uk
Claire Duncanson Senior Lecturer in International Relations gender,gender and international relations,International peacebuilding,International Peace and Security,gender and security,Feminism,Masculinities,The Military in Global Politics,feminist political economy,feminist political ecology,Women, peace and security agenda Rm 4.24 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4624
c.p.duncanson@ed.ac.uk
Oliver Escobar Senior Lecturer in Public Policy Public participation,participatory and deliberative democracy,collaborative governance and partnerships,public dialogue and deliberation,facilitation and mediation,democratic innovations,Interpretive Policy Analysis,political ethnography,Mixed methods,in/equalities,participatory and deliberative methodologies,smart cities,social innovation,power,politics of science and technology,governance,democracy,civic tech,social commons,digital public sphere 4.23 Chrystal Macmillan Building
+44 (0)131 651 3783
oliver.escobar@ed.ac.uk
Darrick Evensen Lecturer in Environmental Politics Climate change and energy policy,Environmental Sociology,Environmental Policy,Shale gas,Energy transitions,North America,European Union,United Kingdom,Sense of place,Social representations Room 2.05 (note: this is a temporary office, due to some estate being closed) Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)749 695 8769
darrick.evensen@ed.ac.uk
Carmen Gebhard Senior Lecturer in Politics and IR; Co-Director of the MSc International and European Politics Comparative European Politics,Small States,regional autonomies,European Union foreign and security policy,security and defence cooperation,inter-organizationalism 4.20 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6504622 (working remotely, so number and office not currently in use)
C.Gebhard@ed.ac.uk
Marc Geddes Senior Lecturer in Politics British politics,parliamentary studies,UK Parliament,interpretive political science,evidence in politics,ethnography,democracy Office B.09 
19 George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 3784
marc.geddes@ed.ac.uk
Iain Hardie Senior Lecturer in International Relations Comparative Political Economy,International Political Economy,Financial Markets,Financialization B.1 
22 George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4249
iain.hardie@ed.ac.uk
Tim Hayward Professor of Environmental Political Theory Social Philosophy,epistemic obligations,fairness 3.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4523
tim.hayward@ed.ac.uk
Ailsa Henderson Professor of Political Science political behaviour,political culture,Regionalism,voting and elections,comparative territorial politics,UK,Scotland,Quebec-Scotland comparisons,European values,Public opinion and Political attitudes 3.09 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1618
ailsa.henderson@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Hom Senior Lecturer in International Relations International Relations,International theory,Social constructivism,Narratives,timing / time / temporality,International Security,critical security studies,Process / Figurational Sociology,disciplinary history,classical realism  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6504688
Andrew.Hom@ed.ac.uk
Sujin Hong Research Fellow Neuropolitics,Neuroimaging (fMRI),Social pain and empathy,Emotional processing and social cognition,Perception and cognition in music and language 2.03 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 6632
Sujin.Hong@ed.ac.uk
Juliet Kaarbo Professor of Foreign Policy Foreign Policy Analysis,political psychology 4.21 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4252
j.kaarbo@ed.ac.uk
Katarzyna (Kasia) Kaczmarska Lecturer in Politics and International Relations Sociology of Knowledge,International theory,Research methodology,Russian foreign and domestic politics,the post-Soviet region,Academic freedom 3.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1740
k.kaczmarska@ed.ac.uk
Russell Keat Professor Emeritus Ethics and markets  Russell.Keat@ed.ac.uk
Michael Keating Professor Comparative European Politics,European Union,Territorial Politics,nationalism  St John's Land
Holyrood Road
+44 (0)7758329876
m.keating@abdn.ac.uk
Meryl Kenny Senior Lecturer in Gender and Politics women and politics,gender and political institutions,Feminist institutionalism,political parties,Political recruitment,Political representation,Territorial Politics 4.29 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1332
M.Kenny@ed.ac.uk
Kristen Knowles Research Fellow political psychology,Voter behaviour 4.13 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
kristen.knowles@ed.ac.uk
Harshan Kumarasingham Senior Lecturer in British Politics British Politics,Decolonisation,Comparative Politics,Political History,South Asia,Commonwealth Politics and History,Monarchy,Australasia,British Empire,Constitutional Politics,Constitutional History,Parliamentary Studies,Westminster Model,State-Building,South-East Asia,Executive Power 3.04 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 4750
Harshan.Kumarasingham@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Liu Lecturer in Gender and Politics gender,women's and social movements,women's political representation,women's political participation,migration and citizenship,media,East Asian politics B.2 22 George Square 
sarah.liu@ed.ac.uk
Clare Llewellyn Career Development Fellow Neuropolitics of identity,Social media,Big data,Natural language processing,Text and data analytics 2.03, 2F2 
18 Buccleuch Place
+ 44 (0)131 650 6633
Clare.Llewellyn@ed.ac.uk
Fiona Mackay Professor of Politics; Director of genderED gender and political institutions,gender mainstreaming,gender and public policy,Feminist institutionalism,women's movements,International Organisations,Feminism,Institutions and institutional change,organizations and institutions,Political representation,gender based violence,women and politics,Inequality & diversity 3.18 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 4244
F.S.Mackay@ed.ac.uk
Luke March Personal Chair of Post-Soviet and Comparative Politics; Head of Politics and International Relations; Deputy Director of the Princess Dashkova Russian Centre Moldova,Radical left,Populism,Social movements,Protest,Russian Politics,nationalism 3.08 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4241
l.march@ed.ac.uk
Benjamin Martill Lecturer in Politics and International Relations European Union's Foreign and Security Policy,British Politics,Populism,Party politics,European Security,Transatlantic Relations 3.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1736
benjamin.martill@ed.ac.uk
Richard McAllister Honorary Fellow  richard.mcallister@ed.ac.uk
Nicola McEwen Professor of Territorial Politics; Co-Director, Centre on Constitutional Change. Senior Research Fellow, UK in a Changing Europe Territorial Politics,Scottish Politics,Devolution,Multi-level governance,multi-level energy policy,welfare devolution,voting and elections,federal states,identity politics,nationalism 3.05 St John's Land
St John's Street
+44 (0)131 651 1831
N.McEwen@ed.ac.uk
Mihaela Mihai Senior Lecturer in Political Theory, Co-Director of the Centre for Ethics and Critical Thought, Programme Director MSc International Political Theory Critical Social and Political Theory,Arts and politics,Architecture and political theory,Political emotions,Political memory and historical injustice,Comparative constitutionalism,gender,Theories of democracy 3F1 room 3.21 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)1316506636
Mihaela.Mihai{at}ed.ac.uk
James Mitchell Professor of Public Policy B.02 
21 George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 5767
James.Mitchell@ed.ac.uk
Maša Mrovlje CRITIQUE Visiting Fellow 3.22 
18 Buccleuch Place
Masa.Mrovlje@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Neal Senior Lecturer in Politics and International Relations; Co-Director of the Centre for Security Research (CeSeR) International Security,War on terror,Discourse Theory,Sociological Theory,political theory,UK,Britain,critical theory,critical security studies,securitization,constructivism,poststructuralism,Scotland 4.22 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4236
andrew.neal@ed.ac.uk
Kieran Oberman Senior Lecturer in Politics political theory,Political philosophy,Global justice,just war theory,Immigration,Immigration and asylum policy,Distributive justice,Social justice  Chrystal Macmillan Building
01316508266
Kieran.Oberman@ed.ac.uk
Pontus Odmalm Senior Lecturer in Politics Comparative European Politics,Politics of immigration,Citizenship,Political parties 3.20 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3926
Pontus.Odmalm (at) ed.ac.uk
Ugur Ozdemir Lecturer in Quantitative Political Science Comparative Political Behavior,Spatial Models of Elections,Quantitative Methods,Positive Political Theory 2.13c (Enter through 2.13a) Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3990
Ugur.Ozdemir@ed.ac.uk
Nicola Perugini Senior Lecturer in International Relations Political violence,Global justice,Human rights,Humanitarianism,Race,International Law & International Relations,Colonialism and imperialism,Visual cultures,Israel/Palestine,Middle East Politics 4F1, Room 4.03 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 6515472
nicola.perugini@ed.ac.uk
Charles Raab Professorial Fellow 3.18 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 4243
c.d.raab@ed.ac.uk
Charlotte Rommerskirchen Senior Lecturer in International Political Economy European Union,Financial Markets,Mixed Methods,International Political Economy,Comparative Political Economy,Debt Management 3.17 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 651 3861
Charlotte.Rommerskirchen@ed.ac.uk
Sophie Moteau Subject Academic Support Officer - Politics and International Relations 3.16 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4253
sophie.sheerin@ed.ac.uk
Ewan Stein Senior Lecturer in International Relations Political Islam,Middle East Politics,Egyptian politics,Arab political thought,Arab-Israeli conflict,state-society relations,International Relations of the Middle East 4.27 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
0131 650 4264
ewan.stein@ed.ac.uk
Wilfried Swenden Professor of South Asian and Comparative Politics, Postgraduate Advisor (PIR PhD/MScR) Federalism,intergovernmental relations,Governing in divided societies,Indian Politics,Territorial Politics,Multi-level governance,Comparative Politics 3.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4255
W.Swenden@ed.ac.uk
Mathias Thaler Senior Lecturer in Political Theory; Co-Director of Research for the School of Social and Political Science; Research Convener for Politics and International Relations Genocide,Global justice,Humanitarian intervention,Ideology,International theory,Marxism,Multiculturalism,Reconciliation,Political forgiveness,Democratic theory,Political violence and non-violence,Pragmatism,Critical Theory,Just War theory,Utopia,Dystopia,Art and Politics Room 4.09 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6515769
mathias.thaler@ed.ac.uk
Patrick Theiner Senior Teaching Fellow International Relations,Regionalism,International development,International Organisations,Innovation Diffusion,Global Health,Internet Governance,European Union,regional organisations,international sports,international negotiation,Comparative Regionalism,political architecture 3.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 5356 (landline) / +44 756 4259 280 (Telegram & Whatsapp)
patrick.theiner@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Thompson Chair of Public Policy and Citizenship Quantitative Methods,Public policy,Citizenship,perception measurement,surveys,statistical analysis,involvement,Participation,European Union,Health policy  15a George Square
andrew.thompson@ed.ac.uk
Oliver Turner Senior Lecturer (Associate Prof.) in International Relations US foreign policy,US-China/Asia relations,British foreign policy in Asia,Critical geopolitics,International relations of East/South East Asia,Decolonisation 2.14 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
0131 651 5678
oliver.turner@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Vaughan Honorary Fellow  vaughansarah@hotmail.com
Shaina Western Lecturer in International Relations and Quantitative Methods organizations and institutions,Human rights,International Law & International Relations,Quantitative Methods B.08 
19 George Square
swestern@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Kate Wright Senior Lecturer and Chancellor's Fellow in Media and Communication Media,Journalism,International news,Humanitarianism,Human rights,Peace and conflict,Communication theories,NGOs,State-media relations,soft power,public diplomacy (I am currently working from home as my office block is closed) B.05 
21 George Square
Twitter @newsprof1
Kate.Wright@ed.ac.uk
David Yarrow Lecturer in Political Economy International Political Economy,Economic Growth,Degrowth,GDP,National Accounting,Environmental Accounting,Economic Indicators,Sustainable Development,Karl Polanyi,Constructivism,Economic Ideas,History of Economics,Automation,Work and Welfare,UBI 3.12 St John's Land
david.yarrow@ed.ac.uk