Skip to main content

School of Social and Political Science: Staff profiles

Search

Staff Profiles

Politics and International Relations

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Jamie Allinson Programme Director MSc IR of the Middle East, Co-director MSc IR of the Middle East with Arabic Decolonisation,Historical sociology,International Relations,International theory,Marxism,Middle East Politics 2.01. Guidance and Feedback hours, Wednesdays 10-12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6509925
J.Allinson@ed.ac.uk
Mark Aspinwall Honorary Fellow Mexico,Mexican politics,Political economy of North America,Political economy,Institutions and institutional change,norm diffusion,governance,development,civil society  58 George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1730
Mark.Aspinwall@ed.ac.uk
Hayley Bennett Research Fellow, Academy of Government Contractualism,Welfare Markets,Unemployment,Labour Market,Poverty,Welfare reform politics,Welfare-to-Work,Regionalism,Third Sector,Inequality,public service reform,Public policy,social enterprise 4f1, 4.02 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 6511325
Hayley.Bennett(at)ed.ac.uk
Shaun Bevan Lecturer in Quantitative Political Science; Deputy Director of Research (Data), School of Social and Political Science; Director of Postgraduate Admissions (Research), Politics and International Relations Agenda-Setting,Public policy,interest groups,Public Opinion,political behaviour,Time Series Analysis,Event History Analysis,Measurement 3.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 650 4128
Shaun.Bevan@ed.ac.uk
Andrea Birdsall Lecturer in International Relations; Co-Director of the MSc Global Crime, Justice and Security Human rights,International Relations,International Law & International Relations,Humanitarian intervention,Norms,Counterterrorism 4.25 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 650 6974
a.birdsall@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Nick Bland Visiting Professor, School of Social and Political Sciences; What Works Scotland 3.04 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3914
nick.bland@ed.ac.uk
Elizabeth Bomberg Professor of Environmental Politics; Deputy Head of Politics and IR Environmental politics and policy; energy politics; activism; Europeanization; US politics 3.06 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4248
e.bomberg@ed.ac.uk
Christina Boswell Director of Research, School of Social & Political Science Political Sociology,Use of Research in Policy,Immigration and asylum policy,Politics of immigration,Public policy 3.21 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 9924
Christina.Boswell@ed.ac.uk
Caroline Bouchard Research Fellow - MERCURY 4.03, 34 Buccleuch Place 
+44(0)131 650 4266
c.bouchard@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Oana Ciobanu Research Fellow  +44 (0)131 651 1316
Oana.Ciobanu@ed.ac.uk
Alan Convery Lecturer in Politics Britain,Multi-level party politics,British Politics,Conservative Party,Conservative politics,Scottish Politics,Welsh politics 2.14 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 8255
Alan.Convery@ed.ac.uk
Philip Cook Lecturer in Political Theory; Editor-in-Chief, Res Publica Political Theory,Political Philosophy,Social Justice,Education and Schools,Children and Childhood,Family Relationships,Children and Democracy,Contractualism 3.29 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 651 1577
Philip.Cook@ed.ac.uk
Laura Cram Professor of European Politics and Director of NRLabs Neuropolitics Research European public policy,European Identity,Neuropolitics of identity,Neuropolitics of public policy,experimental research,fMRI studies,physiological studies,behavioural games,identity triggers,national identity,symbols,Brexit processes, Scotland and EU Room 2 02, Flat 2F2 
18 Buccleuch Place
0131 651 5571
Laura.Cram@ed.ac.uk
Elizabeth Cripps Senior Lecturer in Political Theory; Associate Director of the Just World Institute Climate change ethics,Climate justice,Collective responsibility,Justice and non-human animals,Population and justice,Political theory,Political philosophy,Justice and environment,Parental duties Rm 3.30 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 651 1948
elizabeth.cripps@ed.ac.uk
Chad Damro Senior Lecturer, Jean Monnet Chair and Director of the Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence, and Co-Director of the Europa Institute. Room 2.02, 21 George Square 
+44 (0)131 650 6698
Chad.Damro@ed.ac.uk
Sara Rich Dorman Lecturer in Politics; Director of Undergraduate Teaching (DUGT) in PIR African Politics,nationalism and the post-colonial state in Africa,Citizenship and belonging,Elections,State formation 4.08 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4239
Sara.Dorman@ed.ac.uk
WJ Dorman Honorary Fellow  wj.dorman@ed.ac.uk
Claire Duncanson Senior Lecturer in International Relations gender,gender and international relations,International peacebuilding,International Peace and Security,gender and security,Feminism,peacekeeping,Masculinities,The Military in Global Politics Rm 4.24 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4624
c.p.duncanson@ed.ac.uk
Oliver Escobar Lecturer in Public Policy and Co-Director of What Works Scotland Public participation,Policy Processes,Public services,participatory and deliberative democracy,collaborative governance and partnerships,Community Planning,public dialogue and deliberation,facilitation and mediation,participation practitioners,policy work and policy workers,democratic innovations,Interpretive Policy Analysis,political ethnography,Mixed methods,in/equalities 3.04 Chrystal Macmillan Building
+44 (0)131 651 3783
oliver.escobar@ed.ac.uk
Carmen Gebhard Lecturer in Politics and IR; Deputy Director of the Graduate School of Social and Political Science; Jean Monnet Module Convenor 2015-2018; Programme Director of the MSc International and European Politics; European Union's Foreign and Security Policy,Comparative European Politics,Small States,Security and defence cooperation,Inter-organizationalism 4.20 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6504622
C.Gebhard@ed.ac.uk
Marc Geddes Lecturer in British Politics British politics,parliamentary studies,UK Parliament,interpretive political science,evidence in politics,ethnography Office B.09 
19 George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 3784
marc.geddes@ed.ac.uk
Iain Hardie Senior Lecturer in International Relations Comparative Political Economy,International Political Economy,Financial Markets,Financialization B.2 
22 George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4249
iain.hardie@ed.ac.uk
Tim Hayward Professor of Environmental Political Theory; Director of the Just World Institute. Global justice,political theory,Human rights,environmental values,fairness,Political philosophy 3.09 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4238
tim.hayward@ed.ac.uk
Ailsa Henderson Professor of Political Science and Head of Politics & International Relations political behaviour,political culture,Regionalism,voting and elections,comparative territorial politics,UK,Scotland,Quebec-Scotland comparisons,European values,Public opinion and Political attitudes 3.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1618
ailsa.henderson@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Hom Lecturer in International Relations classical realism,International Relations,International theory,just war theory,Social constructivism,Narratives,methodology in the social sciences,timing / time / temporality,International Security,critical security studies,Process / Figurational Sociology,disciplinary history 2.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6504688
Andrew.Hom@ed.ac.uk
Sujin Hong Research Fellow Neuropolitics of identity,Cognitive neuroscience,functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging (fMRI),Emotional communication,Rhythmic processing in music and speech,Empathy and communication,National and cultural identity 2.03 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 6632
Sujin.Hong@ed.ac.uk
Kristen Hopewell Senior Lecturer in International Political Economy International Relations,Global political economy,global governance,Development,emerging powers,BRICs,Brazil,India,China,US hegemony,Global justice,Transnational Governance and Civil Society 4th Floor, Room 4.03 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 4245
kristen.hopewell@ed.ac.uk
Jana Hönke Honorary Fellow Business and security,African politics,contentious politics,critical security studies,Resource politics,Non-state actors,practice theories,Postcolonialism,Transnational politics,Security and development interventions,political geographies of infrastructure  J.Hoenke@ed.ac.uk; j.hoenke@rug.nl; @PoCoSecurity
Ronnie Irving Honorary Fellow  ronnie.irving@ed.ac.uk
Charlie Jeffery Senior Vice Principal; Professor of Politics Regionalism,Multi-level governance,Public attitudes,Public policy,Scottish Politics,Territorial Politics  Charles Stewart House
9-16 Chambers Street
+44 (0)131 650 6443
Charlie.Jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Juliet Kaarbo Professor of Foreign Policy; Co-Director of the Centre for Security Research Foreign Policy Analysis,political psychology 4.21 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4252
j.kaarbo@ed.ac.uk
Russell Keat Professor Emeritus  Russell.Keat@ed.ac.uk
Meryl Kenny Lecturer in Gender and Politics women and politics,gender and political institutions,Feminist institutionalism,political parties,Political recruitment,Political representation,Territorial Politics 4.29 
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1332
M.Kenny@ed.ac.uk
Kristen Knowles Research Fellow political psychology,Voter behaviour 4.13 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
kristen.knowles@ed.ac.uk
Harshan Kumarasingham Lecturer in British Politics British Politics,Decolonisation,Comparative Politics,Political History,South Asia,Commonwealth Politics and History,Monarchy,Australasia,British Empire,Constitutional Politics,Constitutional History,Parliamentary Studies,Westminster Model,Commonwealth Studies,State-Building,South-East Asia,Executive Power B.09 
19 George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 4750
Harshan.Kumarasingham@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Sarah Kyambi  Sarah.Kyambi@ed.ac.uk
Robert Liñeira Research Fellow Electoral and Referendum behaviour,Public opinion and Political attitudes,Territorial politics,Quantitative Methods 4.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1503
Robert.Lineira@ed.ac.uk
Clare Llewellyn Neuropolitics of identity,Social media,Big data,Natural language processing,Text and data analytics  + 44 (0)131 650 6633
C.A.Llewellyn@sms.ed.ac.uk
Fiona Mackay Dean and Head of School of Social and Political Science; Professor of Politics gender and political institutions,gender mainstreaming,gender and public policy,Feminist institutionalism,women's movements,International Organisations,Feminism,Institutions and institutional change,organizations and institutions,Political representation,gender based violence,women and politics 6.04 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4244
F.S.Mackay@ed.ac.uk
Luke March Professor (Personal Chair of Post-Soviet and Comparative Politics); Deputy Director of the Princess Dashkova Russia Centre Russia,Moldova,Radical left,post-Soviet politics,Populism,Social movements,Ukraine,Protest 3.08 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4241
l.march@ed.ac.uk
Richard McAllister Honorary Fellow  richard.mcallister@ed.ac.uk
Hugh McDonnell Postdoctoral Fellow 3.22, 3rd Floor, Flat 1 
18 Buccleuch Place
Hugh.McDonnell@ed.ac.uk
Nicola McEwen Professor of Territorial Politics; Associate Director, Centre on Constitutional Change Territorial Politics,Scottish Politics,Devolution,Multi-level governance,multi-level energy policy,welfare devolution,voting and elections 3.01 St John's Land
St John's Street
+44 (0)131 651 1831
N.McEwen@ed.ac.uk
Mihaela Mihai Senior Research Fellow in Political Theory; Political Theory Research Group Convener 2016-2017; PIR Dissertation Convener MA and Msc Critical Social and Political Theory,Arts and politics,Gender,Architecture and political theory,Political emotions,Political memory and historical injustice,Comparative constitutionalism 3F1 room 3.21 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)1316506636
Mihaela.Mihai@ed.ac.uk
James Mitchell Professor of Public Policy Academy of Government B.02 
21 George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 5767
James.Mitchell@ed.ac.uk
Maša Mrovlje Postdoctoral Research Fellow 3.22 
18 Buccleuch Place
Masa.Mrovlje@ed.ac.uk
Jude Murison Senior Research Fellow in Governance and Regulation Public policy,Political Economy of Development,Migration,Health,International Business,Agriculture and Rural Livelihoods,Justice,Human rights,Elections,Constitutional Politics,governance,Africa,Asia,Uganda,Rwanda  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
Jude.Murison@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Neal Senior Lecturer in Politics and International Relations; Postgraduate Admissions Director International Security,War on terror,Discourse Theory,Sociological Theory,cultural theory,political theory,UK,Britain,critical theory,critical security studies,securitization,constructivism,Postmodern Governance,poststructuralism,Scotland,Scottish Politics 4.22 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4236
andrew.neal@ed.ac.uk
Kieran Oberman Lecturer in Politics political theory,Political philosophy,Global justice,just war theory,Immigration,Immigration and asylum policy,Distributive justice,Social justice Room 4.23 Chrystal Macmillan Building
Kieran.Oberman@ed.ac.uk
Pontus Odmalm Senior Lecturer in Politics Comparative European Politics,Politics of immigration,Citizenship,Political parties 3.20 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3926
Pontus.Odmalm (at) ed.ac.uk
Ugur Ozdemir Lecturer in Quantitative Political Science Comparative Political Behavior,Spatial Models of Elections,Quantitative Methods,Positive Political Theory 3.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3990
Ugur.Ozdemir@ed.ac.uk
Nicola Perugini Lecturer in International Relations Global justice,Human rights,,Politics of human rights,Humanitarianism,International Law & International Relations,Middle East Politics,Political violence,Postcolonial theory 3.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
nicola.perugini@ed.ac.uk
John Peterson Professor of International Politics US-European relations,EU politics and policy,US foreign policy,EU trade policy PLEASE NOTE: I have now moved my office to 2.14 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3023
john.peterson@ed.ac.uk
Charles Raab Professorial Fellow 3.18 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 4243
c.d.raab@ed.ac.uk
Charlotte Rommerskirchen Lecturer in International Political Economy European Union,Financial Markets,Mixed Methods,International Political Economy,Comparative Political Economy,Debt Management 3.17 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 651 3861
Charlotte.Rommerskirchen@ed.ac.uk
JP Singh Chair and Professor of Culture and Political Economy; Director, Institute for International Cultural Relations International trade and development,Information and communication technologies for development (ICT4D),Cultural economics,identity politics,Diplomacy,Negotiations,global governance  22 George Square
44(0)131 651 1624
JP.Singh@ed.ac.uk
Mike Slaven Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Seeing Illegal Immigrants Politics of immigration,security politics,border security,securitization,UK politics,US politics,policy decision making,irregular migration,interpretive methodologies  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
Mike.Slaven@ed.ac.uk
Ewan Stein Senior Lecturer in International Relations; Postgraduate Advisor Political Islam,Middle East Politics,Egyptian politics,Arab political thought,Arab-Israeli conflict,state-society relations,International Relations of the Middle East 4.27 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
0131 650 4264
ewan.stein@ed.ac.uk
Wilfried Swenden Senior Lecturer in Politics; Co-Director Centre of South Asian Studies Federalism,intergovernmental relations,Governing in divided societies,Indian Politics,Territorial Politics,Multi-level governance,Comparative Politics 3.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4255
W.Swenden@ed.ac.uk
Mathias Thaler Chancellor's Fellow and Senior Lecturer in Politics; Director, Global Justice Academy; Programme Director International Political Theory Genocide,Global justice,Humanitarian intervention,Ideology,International theory,Marxism,Multiculturalism,Reconciliation,Political forgiveness,Democratic theory,Political violence and non-violence,Pragmatism,Critical Theory,Just War theory Room 4.09 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6515769
mathias.thaler@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Thompson Chair of Public Policy & Citizenship Quantitative Methods,Public policy,Citizenship,perception measurement,surveys,statistical analysis,involvement,Participation 3.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1562
andrew.thompson@ed.ac.uk
Oliver Turner Lecturer in International Relations US politics,US foreign policy,US-China/Asia relations,British foreign policy in Asia,Critical geopolitics,International relations of East/South East Asia,Decolonisation 3.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
0131 651 5678
oliver.turner@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Vaughan Honorary Fellow  vaughansarah@hotmail.com
Clay Young Student Support Officer Politics & Social Policy 1.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3923
Clay.Young@ed.ac.uk