Skip to main content

School of Social and Political Science: Staff profiles

Search

Staff Profiles

Science Technology and Innovation Studies

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Geoffrey Banda Research Fellow Innovation,International development,Science,Regenerative Medicine,Business Models,Financing Innovation,Pharmaceutical Production 2.03 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
Geoffrey.Banda@ed.ac.uk
David Bloor Emeritus Professor  Chisholm House
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 4256
D.Bloor@ed.ac.uk
Ronan Bolton Lecturer Climate change and energy policy,energy policy and politics,Technology and society,sociology of markets,Sustainability S1 Chisholm House
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 6366
Ronan.Bolton@ed.ac.uk
Ann Bruce Associate Director Research (KE & Impact), lecturer Environment,Participation,Sustainability,Risk,agriculture and food security,interdisciplinarity,GM,animal genetics,Knowledge exchange,animal biosciences,Values 2.01 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 6364
a.bruce@ed.ac.uk
Jane Calvert Reader in Science, Technology and Innovation Studies Science and technology studies,Sociology of Science,Philosophy of biology,Science policy,Engineering studies,Synthetic biology,Systems biology,Interdisciplinary collaborations  High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 9126
Jane.Calvert@ed.ac.uk
Gian Marco Campagnolo Lecturer & Programme Director; Alan Turing Fellow Valuation Studies,Social Data Science,Sociology of Images,Sociology of Business Knowledge,social studies of markets,Social Studies of ICT Attic Office Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 2843
g.campagnolo@ed.ac.uk
GĂ©raldine Debard Science, Technology & Innovation Studies (STIS) Administrator G.43 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 6384
geraldine.debard@ed.ac.uk
Lawrence Dritsas Lecturer; Deputy Director of the Undergraduate School (Teaching, Learning and Assessment) Science & technology studies,History of science,Colonial/imperial history,Decolonisation,global histories of science technology and medicine,Scottish history,Missionary Encounter Top floor A.4 Chisholm House
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 4011
L.Dritsas@ed.ac.uk
Emma Frow Honorary Fellow Science & technology studies,Sociology of Science,Engineering studies,synthetic biology,expertise and interdisciplinarity,Values,Representation in scientific practice  Chisholm House
High School Yards
emma.frow@ed.ac.uk
Miguel Garcia-Sancho Chancellor's Fellow / Lecturer History of science,Science and technology studies,science communication,genomics,biotechnology,bioinformatics,animal genetics,biology and agriculture Room 2.03 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 6506393
miguel.gsancho [at] ed.ac (dot) uk
Gill Haddow Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow Patient experiences,Cyborgs,Sociology of health and illness,Medical sociology,Qualitative Research Methods,embodiment,new scientific and medical technologies,public engagement G.32 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0) 131 650 2389
gill.haddow@ed.ac.uk
Catherine Heeney Research Fellow, Making Genomic Medicine Research Ethics,Science and technology,genomics 2.08 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
01316506388
Catherine.Heeney@ed.ac.uk
John Henry Director Science Studies History of western thought,sociology of scientific knowledge,History of science,science and religion  Chisholm House
High School Yards
John.Henry@ed.ac.uk
Farah Huzair governance,Innovation,Policy,Life Sciences 2.08 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 6386
Farah.Huzair@ed.ac.uk
David S. Ingram Honorary Professor/Honorary Professorial Fellow, Science, Technology and Innovation Studies.  Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
d.s.ingram@ed.ac.uk
James Lowe Research Fellow genomics,History of science,History of biological sciences,variation,Translation,biotechnology,Philosophy of science,philosophy of biology 2.07 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 6502 842
James.Lowe@ed.ac.uk
Catherine Lyall Professor of Science and Public Policy; Head of Science, Technology & Innovation Studies Policy issues related to the governance of science, technology, innovation,The promotion and management of interdisciplinary research,Research evaluation and the assessment of research impact G.39 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 2452
c.lyall@ed.ac.uk
Fadhila Mazanderani Chancellor's Fellow Social movements,Patient experiences,Public health,Health policy,Sociology of Knowledge,Medical sociology,Social media and internet technologies,Chronic illness,Care ethics 1.01A Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
f.mazanderani@ed.ac.uk
Koichi Mikami Research Fellow - Making Genomic Medicine Sociology of Science,Biomedicine and politics,governance,qualitative research 2.08 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44(0)131 650 6365
K.Mikami@ed.ac.uk
James Mittra Deputy Director (Research), Graduate School of Social and Political Science; Deputy Director of the Innogen Institute; Senior Lecturer in Science, Technology and Innovation Studies Innovation,translational medicine,agrobiotechnology,Pharmaceuticals,risk governance,regulation,stratified medicine,genomics,Regenerative Medicine,Value,Public-private partnerships,collaboration,interdiciplinarity Room G.33 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 2453
James.Mittra@ed.ac.uk
Eileen Mothersole Secretary G.43 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 6398
E.Mothersole@ed.ac.uk
Sarah Parry Senior Lecturer Attic Room A.2 Chisholm House
High School Yards
++44 (0)131 650 4262
sarah.parry@ed.ac.uk
Eugenia Rodrigues Senior Research Fellow environment,monitoring,surveillance,new technologies,new social media,public engagement,citizen science 2.01 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 651 4751
Eugenia.Rodrigues@ed.ac.uk
Pablo Schyfter Lecturer; Director of Science and Technology in Society MSc. Sociology of knowledge,Science and technology studies,Gender,Feminist Theory,Engineering studies,Phenomenology A2 Chisholm House
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 4262
p.schyfter@ed.ac.uk
Deborah Scott Research Fellow governance of emerging science and technology;,Science and technology studies,synthetic biology,Science policy,knowledge politics,international law G.01 Chisholm House
High School Yards
+44(0)131 650 6345
Deborah.Scott@ed.ac.uk
Antti Silvast Research Fellow - European Energy Policy and Markets Energy & Infrastructure,Climate change and energy policy,European Union,Risk and vulnerability,Social Studies of Finance,Everyday Life,Sociological Theory B.1 Chisholm House
High School Yards
+44(0)131 650 3427
antti.silvast@ed.ac.uk
Graham Spinardi Ove Arup/Royal Academy of Engineering Senior Research Fellow in Integrating Technical and Social Aspects of Fire Safety,  Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 6394
G.Spinardi@ed.ac.uk
Klaus Staubermann Honorary Fellow / Principal Curator of Technology National Museums Scotland 
+44 (0) 131 247 4357
k.staubermann@nms.ac.uk
James Stewart Research Fellow and Lecturer Technology and society,Media and society,Political Economy of Market Microstructure,Policy issues related to the governance of science,technology,innovation,Work & Labour,Social media and internet technologies,Space,place and the city,Social network analysis,Open Content Licensing,Computer models and simulations for policy,Social Shaping of Internet and Society,Digital Work,digital culture,digital research,Digital games and social inclusion,Innovation in elderly care,EU Policy,crowdsourcing,ICTs and development,,telecoms policy and innovation,Innovation,Open Data,Domestic Technology,the family,Mobile communications,Social Inclusion,ICTs in Social and Employment Policy,Digital Divide,participatory design,digital evidence 2:02 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 6392
J.K.Stewart@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Paul Stollard  v1pstoll@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Steve Sturdy Professor of the Sociology of Medical Knowledge; Wellcome Trust Senior Investigator in Medical Humanities History of science and medicine,Medical sociology,sociology of scientific knowledge,genomics 2.05 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 651 4741
S.Sturdy@ed.ac.uk
Erika Szymanski Research Fellow synthetic biology,yeast,science communication,rhetoric,wine,Interdisciplinary collaboration G.01 Chisholm House
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 4258
Erika.Szymanski@ed.ac.uk
Joyce Tait Director, Innogen Institute Innovation-governance-stakeholder interactions in life science and related areas: cell therapies and regenerative medicine,synthetic biology,GM technologies,drug development,stratified medicine,and biofuels.Innovation-governance-stakeholder interactions in life science and related areas: cell therapies and regenerative medicine,and biofuels.,Strategic and management decision making in companies and public bodies; policy analysis; risk assessment and regulation; stakeholder attitudes; science and risk communication; evaluation and application of interdisciplinary research; sustainable development.Strategic and management decision making in companies and public bodies; policy analysis; risk assessment and regulation; stakeholder attitudes; science and risk communication; evaluation and application of interdisciplinary research; sustainable development. G.36 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 9174
joyce.tait@ed.ac.uk
Anne Valentine Research Administrator G.35 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 2388
A.Valentine@ed.ac.uk
Niki Vermeulen Lecturer in history/sociology of science; Wellcome Research Fellow Science & technology studies,History of science and medicine,Social Organisation of Knowledge,Science policy,Innovation,Life Sciences Attic - Room A1 Chisholm House
High School Yards
+44(0)131 650 6396
Niki.Vermeulen@ed.ac.uk
Faye Wade Career Development Fellow (Energy and Society) Climate change and energy policy,Heat,Domestic energy,Building professionals,Technology and society B1 Chisholm House
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 6399
Faye.Wade@ed.ac.uk
Andrew Watkins Postdoctoral Research Fellow Science,technology and development,National innovation systems,Global Health Policy,Regional development,Entrepreneurship and regional development,Regulation and innovation,Inclusive innovation,Institutional capacity building,Entrepreneurial finance,Intermediaries and knowledge exchange 2.07 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
Andrew.Watkins@ed.ac.uk
David Wield Visiting Professor, University of Edinburgh; Professor of Innovation and Development at the Open University; Co-Director, Innogen Institute biotechnology,agriculture,Food Security,Policy,regulation,governance,development,innovation,health,Pharmaceuticals,Africa,capacity building,GM,India,interdisciplinarity,Research methods,Innovation in health care life sciences,development and global health,public-private collaboration in genomics and biotechnology 2.07 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 6385
david.wield@ed.ac.uk
Robin Williams Director, Institute for the Study of Science, Technology and Innovation Studies; Research Adviser, and Postgraduate Research Adviser, Science, Technology and Innovation Studies Subject Group Room 2.09 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 6387
Robin.Williams@ed.ac.uk
Mark Winskel Chancellor's Research Fellow on Energy Innovation sociology of energy innovation,expertise and interdisciplinarity,sociotechnical system change,energy policy and politics,research-policy exchange,energy organisations and institutions,innovation systems F3 Chisholm House
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 651 4086
Mark.Winskel@ed.ac.uk
Mark T. O. Wong Research Assistant Big data,Social network analysis,Digital Sociology,Data Science,History of science and technology,Social Data Science,social media,bioinformatics,Social Policy,API,digital age,Bibliometric,Digital Social Research 2.07 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
0131 650 4256
Tsun.On.Wong@ed.ac.uk
Steven Yearley Professor of the Sociology of Scientific Knowledge Environment,citizen science,Justice and environment,Environmental Sociology,Sociology of knowledge and science,Sustainability,Sociology of Climate Change 2.06 Old Surgeons' Hall
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 651 4747
steve.yearley@ed.ac.uk
Peter Zeniewski Chancellor's Fellow, Energy and Society energy security,energy politics,Energy policy,EU Energy Policy,natural gas F3 Chisholm House
High School Yards
+44 (0) 131 651 1396
Peter.Zeniewski@ed.ac.uk