Skip to main content

School of Social and Political Science: Staff profiles

Search

Staff Profiles

Social Anthropology

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Richard Baxstrom Professor of Anthropology and the Humanities; Deputy Head of School and Director of Learning and Teaching - School of Social and Political Science Urban anthropology,Cinema,Art,popular culture,Southeast Asia,Anthropology and Philosophy,Anthropology of ethics,Religion And Ritual,Witchcraft,History of anthropology,North America,Neoliberal Governmentality,Neoliberalism 5.29 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4051
Richard.Baxstrom@ed.ac.uk; for matters pertaining to SPS Learning and Teaching: sps.dhos@ed.ac.uk
Tom Boylston Lecturer Media anthropology,Game studies,Anthropology of Religion,Anthropology of Technology,Anthropology of Ethiopia 5.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3909
tom.boylston@ed.ac.uk
Francesca Bray Professor Emerita of Social Anthropology Material Culture,China and East Asia,Gender regimes,Agriculture and the politics of food,Technology and society,Global history,history of technology  francesca.bray@ed.ac.uk
Janet Carsten Professor of Social and Cultural Anthropology 4.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3935
J.carsten@ed.ac.uk
Hsiao-Chiao Chiu ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship and relatedness,Kinship-related rituals,Gender,Marriage and marital preferences,Taiwan,China,Anthropology of ethics,care G. 03 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44 (0) 131 6505928
Hsiaochiao.Chiu@ed.ac.uk
Jessica Cooper Lecturer care,ethics,affect theory,madness,law,governance,psychoanalysis,Theories of Punishment,the state,ethnographic methods,Anthropology of the United States 3.13 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
Jessica.Cooper@ed.ac.uk
Jacob Copeman Senior Lecturer South Asia,Gurus,Blood Donation,Tissue Economies,Social Reform,Media,Technology and society,India,Medical Anthropology,Names and Naming,Secularism 3.17 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 6506860
Magnus Course Senior Lecturer in Social Anthropology ethnography,Mythology and folklore,Memory,Language and Identity,Gaelic Scotland,Environment,fishing,the sea,Chile,South America,Death,religion and ritual,Italy 5.24 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3893
Magnus.Course@ed.ac.uk
Michael Crawley ESRC Postdoctoral Fellow Anthropology of Ethiopia,Youth,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body,Anthropology of Sport 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 511633
Michael.Crawley@ed.ac.uk
Jamie Cross Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology; Associate Dean (Knowledge Exchange and Impact), College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences ethnography,International development,South Asia,renewable energy,Solar photovoltaics,Technology and society,Sub-Saharan Africa Room 5.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
Office: +44(0)1316515181 Mobile: +44(0)7552817310
jamie.cross@ed.ac.uk
Resto Cruz Lecturer in Social Anthropology Kinship and relatedness,social mobility,life course research,Intergenerational relations,personhood,personal lives,Archives,Data Studies,Philippines,Southeast Asia,Britain,youth,ageing,Inequality,class 3.13 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 655 11715
resto.cruz@ed.ac.uk
Jennifer Curtis Postdoctoral Fellow  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
jennifer.curtis@ed.ac.uk
Agustin Diz Lecturer in Anthropology of Development Indigenous Peoples,Political Economy,Labour,Unemployment,Welfare,Extractive industries,Oil and Gas,Latin American Culture and Society,Argentina,Economic Anthropology,International development,Applied Anthropology,Sovereignty,ethnography,Growth and Degrowth,Gran Chaco 4.16 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6503079
adiz@ed.ac.uk
Jacob Doherty Lecturer in Anthropology of Development Urban anthropology,Environmental anthropology,Development studies,African studies,Waste,Mobility,infrastructure,Informal economies,Work & Labour,Capitalism,Race & Racism,Gender and Development,Visual Culture,ethnography 4.15 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)1316513785
jacob.doherty@ed.ac.uk
Stefan Ecks Senior Lecturer; Director PGT Medical Anthropology,Medical pluralism,Anthropology of Pharmaceuticals,Anthropology of food,Transcultural psychiatry 4.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6969
Stefan.Ecks@ed.ac.uk
Alexander Edmonds Professor of Social and Medical Anthropology Anthropology of health and medicine,War veterans,Mental health,Military cultures,Military psychiatry,Plastic surgery,gender and beauty,Health and international development,Ethnicity and race 4.26 Chrystal Macmillan Building
+44 (0)131 650 9920
alex.edmonds@ed.ac.uk
Jamie Furniss Lecturer in International Development Middle East and North Africa,Anthropology of development,Egypt,Waste and waste collectors  +44 (0)131 651 5675
jamie.furniss@ed.ac.uk
Anthony Good Professor Emeritus in Social Anthropology South Asia,Immigration,Kinship,Hinduism,Legal anthropology,Legal pluralism,asylum seekers and refugees  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
A.Good@ed.ac.uk
Andreas Hackl Lecturer in Anthropology of Development 3.20 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 6515357
andreas.hackl@ed.ac.uk
Sophie Haines Lecturer in Anthropology of Development Environmental anthropology,Knowledge production and practices,Anthropology of Development,Science and technology studies,infrastructure,Weather and Climate,Forecasting practices,Conservation and development,Political ecology,Science,technology and development,Belize 4.15 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1717
Sophie.Haines@ed.ac.uk
Serra Hakyemez Lecturer in Social Anthropology Sovereignty,Human rights,Social movements,digital militarism,Kurdish movement,courtroom ethnography,Political violence,anthropology of law,war on terror,Turkey,Middle East 5.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 504 280
serra.hakyemez@ed.ac.uk
Ian Harper Professor of Anthropology of Health and Development International development,South Asia,Medical Anthropology,Global Health Policy 5.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3816
ian.harper@ed.ac.uk
John Harries Senior Teaching Fellow and Deputy Director of the Undergraduate School (Progression and Student Experience) time and temporality,indigeneity and identity (particularly in postcolonial settler societies),matter and materiality,the senses and the environment,Canada,Newfoundland,the Beothuk,social memory,contentious heritage,Human-animal relationships,cats 5.25 Chrystal Macmillan Building
+44 (0)131 651 3065
j.harries@ed.ac.uk
Morteza Hashemi Leverhulme ECF Global Social Theory,Decoloniality,Sociology of Immigration,Sociology of Religion,Sociology of Technology,Intersection of Religion and Technology,Race and Identity,Social Integration in Britain,Ethnography,Fortress Europe,Neo-Khaldunian Social Theory,Blood and Organ Donation,Biopolitics 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4273 (direct line)
Morteza.Hashemi@ed.ac.uk
Naomi Haynes Chancellor's Fellow and Lecturer in Social Anthropology Christianity,Political economy,Southern Africa,Hierarchy,Values,Economic anthropology,Religion And Ritual G.1 
22 George Square
+44(0)131 650 4052
Naomi.Haynes@ed.ac.uk
Casey High Senior Lecturer 5.21 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
01316515180
C.High@ed.ac.uk
Lotte Hoek Head of Subject; Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology Media anthropology,Sexuality,Visual Culture,Cinema,Urban Ethnography,South Asia,Bangladesh,Pakistan 5.23 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6544
lotte.hoek@ed.ac.uk
Juli Huang Lecturer in Anthropology of Development Pro-poor markets,Carbon markets,Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR),social enterprise,Gender and Development,Science,technology and development,Corporations,Anthropology of Money,Alternative currencies,Economic anthropology,International development,South Asia,Bangladesh,Iran 5.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4269
juli.huang@ed.ac.uk
Delwar Hussain Lecturer and Chancellors Fellow ethnography,Gender and Sexuality,Borderlands,Bangladesh,Fences,South Asia,Modernisation,Decolonisation,War on terror,Political Islam,Religious Identity,labour,religion,LGBT,Spain,history,Pakistan,India  delwar.hussain@ed.ac.uk
Laura Jeffery Professor of Anthropology of Migration Forced displacement,Migration studies,Environmental anthropology,Critical heritage studies,Environment and society,Conservation and development,Human-environment relations,Migration and development,intangible cultural heritage,advocacy,creative engagement,Chagos,Mauritius,Seychelles,Maldives,Indian Ocean 5.20 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (131) 651 3860
laura.jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Chisomo Kalinga Wellcome Trust Medical Humanities Fellow Medical Humanities,Illness narratives,Narrative Medicine,Disease as Metaphor,Arts & Humanities-based research methodologies,participatory action resarch,Oral & print literary cultures,History of Medicine in Malawi,Traditional healing practices G.3 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44(0)1316 515118
Chisomo.Kalinga@ed.ac.uk
Aaron Kappeler Lecturer in Anthropology of Development International development,Agriculture and Rural Livelihoods,Food Security,labor,Environment,Political ecology,Capitalism and its critics,indigeneity,mestizaje,sovereignty,State formation,populism,Latin American Culture and Society 5.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
akappele@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Tobias Kelly Professor of Political and Legal Anthropology Political and legal anthropology,Political violence,Pacifism,Human rights,Anthopology of Britain,Historical Anthropology,Israeli-Palestinian conflict 3.23 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (131) 650 3986
Toby.Kelly@ed.ac.uk
Lucy Lowe Director, Edinburgh Centre for Medical Anthropology Feminism,gender,Reproductive Health,Somalia,Migration and Displacement,Refugee studies,,Motherhood,Reproductive Justice,Diaspora and transnationalism,Gender and Health,Kenya,sexuality 5.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4286
Lucy.Lowe@ed.ac.uk
Siobhan Magee Lecturer in Social Anthropology Kinship and relatedness,Marriage,History and Memory,Gender and Sexuality,Material Culture,United States,Poland,Political and economic anthropology,Legal anthropology 4.16 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
siobhan.magee(at)ed.ac.uk
Rebecca Marsland Senior Lecturer Medical Anthropology,Tanzania,East Africa,Funerals,International development,HIV and AIDS,Witchcraft,Human-animal relationships,Bees,Veterinary Anthropology 5.06 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3864
R.Marsland@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Kate Milosavljevic Post-doctoral research fellow Science and technology studies,Human-animal relationships,Bees,Biomedical knowledge(s),practices and technologies,Agriculture and the politics of food,new scientific and medical technologies,,Urban Ethnography,Agriculture and Rural Livelihoods,prostheses,Technology and society 3.22 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 6630
k.milosavljevic@ed.ac.uk
Eirini Papadaki ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship,adoption,,motherhood,gender,Sexuality,marriage,ethics,unwed pregnancy,Greece G.03 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44(0)1314678081
e.papadaki@ed.ac.uk
Ayaz Qureshi Lecturer in Medical Anthropology ethnography,Pakistan,Public health,Bureaucracy,HIV/AIDS,Gender and Development,Neoliberal Governmentality 5.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 5361
ayaz.qureshi@ed.ac.uk
Lotte Buch Segal Dr ethnography,Political violence,Israel-Palestine,Anthropology of the Middle East,gender,Kinship and relatedness,Trauma,Anthropology of ethics,Ethnic and Religious Minorities in Scandinavia 5.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
George Square
+ 45 29 40 30 55
lotte.segal@ed.ac.uk
Jeevan Sharma Senior Lecturer in South Asia and International Development & Director of Research (School of Social and Political Science) Migrant labor,Migration and development,livelihoods,Gender and Development,Youth,human rights,Development and Humanitarian Aid,Global Health,Reproductive & child health,Monitoring and Evaluation,Nepal and the Himalaya,South Asia 6.07 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 6511760
jeevan.sharma@ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Spencer Regius Professor of South Asian Language, Culture and Society Religion and Politics,Sri Lanka,South and Southeast Asia,Buddhism,War and peace 3F1, 3.24 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 3944
jonathan.spencer@ed.ac.uk
Alice Street Senior Lecturer Anthropology of Melanesia,Biomedical knowledge(s), practices and technologies,hospital ethnography,State building,International development,Bureaucratic Power,nutraceuticals G.1 
22 George Square
+44 (0)131 6515573
Alice.Street@ed.ac.uk
Michelle Taylor Senior Research Fellow, DiaDev Global Health,International development,Control of neglected zoonotic and tropical diseases,diagnostics,drug discovery and development,Development aid,Evidence 1.01 
21 George Square
+44 (0)131 6504081
E.M.Taylor@ed.ac.uk
Neil Thin Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology; Director of Undergraduate Teaching (Social Anthropology) happiness,wellbeing and the good life,appreciative research,aspirational social planning 5.27 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3880
n.thin@ed.ac.uk
Dimitri Tsintjilonis Lecturer Death,sacrifice,personhood,spirit possession,monsters,Indonesia,Greece 5.30 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3934
D.Tsintjilonis@ed.ac.uk
Eva Vernooij Research Fellow HIV and AIDS,Medical Anthropology,Biomedical knowledge(s),practices and technologies,health care systems,policy and interventions,diagnostics,hospital ethnography,sub-Saharan Africa  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+31(6)24542534
Eva.Vernooij@ed.ac.uk
Ann-Christin Wagner Lecturer in Anthropology of Development; Programme Director (Admissions), MSc International Development Return / transnational migration,Refugee studies,Transnational labour migration,Reproductive Health,Research ethics,Iraq and Middle East,East Africa,Agriculture and Rural Livelihoods 4.15 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 7112
awagner3@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Emilija Zabiliute Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellow South Asia,India,diabetes,Medical Anthropology,care,kinship,vulnerability,urban poor,neighbours,gender,gendered violence,Gender and Development,International development 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
Emilija.zabiliute@ed.ac.uk