Skip to main content

School of Social and Political Science: Staff profiles

Search

Staff Profiles

Social Anthropology

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Sebastien Bachelet Postdoctoral Research Fellow Morocco,illegality,arts,advocacy,Political participation,sub-Saharan migration,Migration Studies,Forced displacement  Seb.Bachelet@ed.ac.uk
Richard Baxstrom Senior Lecturer; Director of the Undergraduate School - SPS; Co-Director, Atelier: Creative Arts and the Social Sciences network; Co-Editor, Visual Culture in Britain Urban anthropology,Cinema,Art,popular culture,Southeast Asia,Anthropology and Philosophy,Anthropology of ethics,Religion And Ritual,Witchcraft,History of anthropology,North America,Neoliberal Governmentality,Neoliberalism 5.29 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4051
For emails related to the Undergraduate School: sps.dug@ed.ac.uk - All other emails: Richard.Baxstrom@ed.ac.uk
Tom Boylston Lecturer Ethiopia,the Ethiopian Orthodox Church,Anthropology of Christianity,Media anthropology,Game studies 5.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3909
tom.boylston@ed.ac.uk
Francesca Bray Professor of Social Anthropology Material Culture,China and East Asia,Gender regimes,Agriculture and the politics of food,Technology and society 3.18 
18 Buccleuch Place
francesca.bray@ed.ac.uk
Janet Carsten Professor of Social and Cultural Anthropology 5.24 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3935
J.carsten@ed.ac.uk
Hsiao-Chiao Chiu ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship and relatedness,Kinship-related rituals,Gender,Marriage and marital preferences,Taiwan,China G. 03 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44 (0) 131 6505928
Hsiaochiao.Chiu@ed.ac.uk
Jacob Copeman Senior Lecturer South Asia,Gurus,Atheism,Blood Donation,Tissue Economies,Social Reform,Media,Technology and society,India,Medical Anthropology,Names and Naming 5.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
+44 (0)131 6506860
Magnus Course Senior Lecturer in Social Anthropology ethnography,Mythology and folklore,Memory,Language and Identity,Gaelic Scotland,crofting,Environment,fishing,the sea,Chile,South America 5.23 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3893
Magnus.Course@ed.ac.uk
Jamie Cross Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology; Associate Dean (Knowledge Exchange and Impact), College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences ethnography,International development,South Asia,renewable energy,Solar photovoltaics,Technology and society,Sub-Saharan Africa Room 5.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
Office: +44(0)1316515181 Mobile: +44(0)7552817310
jamie.cross@ed.ac.uk
Jennifer Curtis Postdoctoral Fellow  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
jennifer.curtis@ed.ac.uk
Stefan Ecks Medical Anthropology,Medical pluralism,Anthropology of Pharmaceuticals,Anthropology of food,Transcultural psychiatry 4.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6969
Stefan.Ecks@ed.ac.uk
Alexander Edmonds Professor of Social and Medical Anthropology  18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 9920
alex.edmonds@ed.ac.uk
Joost Fontein Lecturer in Social Anthropology 5.25 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3861
J.Fontein@ed.ac.uk
Jamie Furniss Lecturer in International Development Middle East and North Africa,Anthropology of development,Egypt,Waste and waste collectors 1.08 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 5675
jamie.furniss@ed.ac.uk
Anthony Good Professor Emeritus; Professorial Fellow South Asia,Immigration,Kinship,Hinduism,Legal anthropology,Legal pluralism,asylum seekers and refugees  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
A.Good@ed.ac.uk
Andreas Hackl Postdoctoral Fellow in Social Anthropology, ESRC Global Challenges Research Fund (GCRF) 4.03 
21 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 6511730
andreas.hackl@ed.ac.uk
Ian Harper Professor of Anthropology of Health and Development; Director, Edinburgh Centre for Medical Anthropology (EdCMA) International development,South Asia,Medical Anthropology,Global Health Policy 6.07 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3816
ian.harper@ed.ac.uk
John Harries Senior Teaching Fellow and Deputy Director of the Undergraduate School (Progression and Student Experience) Social memory,time and temporality,indigeneity and identity (particularly in postcolonial settler societies),matter and materiality,the senses and the environment,Canada,Newfoundland,the Beothuk 5.25 Chrystal Macmillan Building
+44 (0)131 651 3065
j.harries@ed.ac.uk
Morteza Hashemi Leverhulme Early Career Fellow Social theory,Sociology of knowledge and science,Sociology of Technology,anthropology of science,Religion Studies,transhumanism,Immigration,Anthropology of Religion,postsecularism 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
Morteza.Hashemi@ed.ac.uk
Naomi Haynes Chancellor's Fellow and Lecturer in Social Anthropology Christianity,Political economy,Southern Africa,Hierarchy,Values,Economic anthropology,Religion And Ritual 4.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
George Square
+44(0)131 650 4052
Naomi.Haynes@ed.ac.uk
Casey High Senior Lecturer 5.21 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
01316515180
C.High@ed.ac.uk
Lotte Hoek Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology Media anthropology,Sexuality,Visual Culture,Cinema,Urban Ethnography,South Asia,Bangladesh,Pakistan 5.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6544
lotte.hoek@ed.ac.uk
Juli Huang Lecturer in Anthropology of Development Pro-poor markets,Carbon markets,Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR),social enterprise,Gender and Development,Science,technology and development,Corporations,Anthropology of Money,Alternative currencies,Economic anthropology,International development,South Asia,Bangladesh,Iran 5.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
juli.huang@ed.ac.uk
Delwar Hussain Chrystal Macmillan Fellow Elections,ethnography,State building,Storytelling and ethnography,Gender and Sexuality,Borderlands,Bangladesh,Fences,South Asia,Modernisation Rm 3.17, 3F2 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 651 5071
dhussain@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Laura Jeffery Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology; Associate Dean (Research Ethics), College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences Forced displacement,Migration studies,Environmental anthropology,Environmental Sociology,Indian Ocean studies,Anthropology of Britain,Mauritius,Chagos islanders,Critical heritage studies,Environment and society,Conservation and development,Human-environment relations,Maldives,Seychelles,Roads and infrastructure,connective infrastructure 5.20 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (131) 651 3860
laura.jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Tobias Kelly Professor of Political and Legal Anthropology Political and legal anthropology,Political violence,Pacifism,Human rights,Anthopology of Britain,Historical Anthropology,Israeli-Palestinian conflict 3.23 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (131) 650 3986
Toby.Kelly@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Lucy Lowe Programme Director MSc Medical Anthropology Feminism,gender,Reproductive Health,Somalia,Migration and Displacement,Refugee studies,,Motherhood,Reproductive Justice,Diaspora and transnationalism,Gender and Health,Kenya,sexuality 5.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4286
Lucy.Lowe@ed.ac.uk
Siobhan Magee ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship and relatedness,Marriage,History and Memory,especially as explored through intergenerational relations,Gender and Sexuality,Material Culture,United States,Poland B.31 
19 George Square
siobhan.magee(at)ed.ac.uk
No Photo Laura Major Career Development Fellow (Lecturer), Social Anthropology Ethnography,Memory,Material Culture,Conflict and Post-Conflict Politics,Museum Studies,Anthropology of Death,Anthropology of the body 3.20, 3F1 
18 Buccleuch Place
0131 6511 329
l.major@ed.ac.uk
Rebecca Marsland Head of Social Anthropology; Senior Lecturer Medical Anthropology,Tanzania,East Africa,Funerals,International development,HIV and AIDS,Witchcraft,Human-animal relationships,Bees,Veterinary Anthropology 5.06 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3864
R.Marsland@ed.ac.uk
Alex Nading Lecturer in Social Anthropology Medical Anthropology,Environmental anthropology,Science and technology studies,Latin American Culture and Society 4.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 651 5120
Alex.Nading@ed.ac.uk
Eirini Papadaki ERC Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kinship,adoption,,motherhood,gender,Sexuality,marriage,ethics,unwed pregnancy,Greece G.03 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44(0)1314678081
e.papadaki@ed.ac.uk
Jeevan Sharma Lecturer in South Asia and International Development; Deputy Director- Global Development Academy Migrant labor,Migration and development,livelihoods,Gender and Development,Youth,human rights,Development and Humanitarian Aid,Global Health,Reproductive & child health,Monitoring and Evaluation,Nepal and the Himalaya,South Asia 5.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 6511760
jeevan.sharma@ed.ac.uk
Leila Sinclair-Bright Career Development Fellow (Research and Teaching) Politics of belonging,Citizenship,Political and legal anthropology,Zimbabwe,Land Reform,Human rights,Humanitarianism,ethnography,postcolonial state and civil society 3.22 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0) 131 6506630
Leila.Sinclair-Bright@ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Spencer Regius Professor of South Asian Language, Culture and Society Religion and Politics,Sri Lanka,South and Southeast Asia,Buddhism,War and peace 5.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3944
jonathan.spencer@ed.ac.uk
Alice Street Senior Lecturer; Chancellors Fellow Anthropology of Melanesia,Biomedical knowledge(s), practices and technologies,hospital ethnography,State building,International development,Bureaucratic Power,nutraceuticals 4.26 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+33 (0)131 6515573
Alice.Street@ed.ac.uk
Neil Thin Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology; Deputy Director of the Undergraduate School (Progression and Student Experience) happiness,wellbeing and the good life,social planning,appreciative (positive) research and planning 5.27 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3880
n.thin@ed.ac.uk
Dimitri Tsintjilonis Lecturer Death, religion and ritual,Indigenous cosmologies,personhood,Sacred violence,Embodiment and the anthropology of the body 5.30 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3934
D.Tsintjilonis@ed.ac.uk
Grit Wesser Career Development Fellow (teaching and research) history and memory,kinship and gender,ritual and personhood,Eastern Germany,Anthropology of the state,Migration and citizenship,Anthropology of Europe,Cold War and post-Cold War studies,Secularity 3.20, 3F1 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 4681
Grit.Wesser@ed.ac.uk