Skip to main content

School of Social and Political Science: Staff profiles

Search

Staff Profiles

Social Work

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Gary Clapton Senior Lecturer adoption and fostering,fathers and fatherhood,children and families social work practice,moral panics 2.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3903
Gary.Clapton@ed.ac.uk
Viviene Cree Emerita Professor of Social Work Studies gender and social work,social work history,social work profession,research with children,reflexivity in research,Feminist research practice,Diaspora,Migration & Transnationalism B.28 
19 George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3894
Viv.Cree@ed.ac.uk
Karen Dargo Student Support Officer - Sociology and Social Work G.04 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1306
karen.dargo@ed.ac.uk
John Devaney Centenary Chair of Social Work Child protection,Child Welfare,Domestic and gender based violence,Social work interventions 2.30 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 5363
J.Devaney@ed.ac.uk
Jackie Gulland Lecturer in Social Work Rights,Law and Regulation,welfare systems,gender and public policy,disability,Social History,Socio-legal,Social care 2.09 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 8256
jackie.gulland@ed.ac.uk
Sumeet Jain Senior Lecturer in Social Work; International Director, School of Social and Political Science community mental health,culture and health,ethnography,well being,South Asia,'global mental health' 2.29 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 651 1463
sumeet.jain@ed.ac.uk
Steve Kirkwood Senior Lecturer in Social Work; Postgraduate Advisor for Social Work; Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy Criminal Justice,Restorative Justice,Asylum,Discourse Analysis,Identity,Refugees 2.22 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6646
s.kirkwood@ed.ac.uk
Zain Kurdi Research Fellow Longitudinal Analysis,Mixed methods research in social sciences,Child protection,Violence Prevention,Quantitative Methods in Social Research,Quantitative analysis of large-scale surveys,Quantitative Research,International Child Protection,Social Epidemiology,Monitoring and Evaluation,Public health 4.30 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 1587
Zain.Kurdi@ed.ac.uk
Pearse McCusker Senior Lecturer in Social Work Mental Health,Adult Safeguarding,Critical Mindfulness,Critical pedagogy,Participatory Action Research,Social Work Law and Ethics 2.23 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)7793 403082
pearse.mccusker@ed.ac.uk
Avril McIvor Senior Teaching Fellow 2.21 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 6511486
A.McIvor@ed.ac.uk
Franziska Meinck Lecturer Violence against Children,Sexual and Gender-Based Violence,Intervention Research,Violence Prevention,Child Abuse,Families and HIV,HIV/AIDS,Violence Measurement,Parenting Programmes 2.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 1785
Franziska.Meinck@ed.ac.uk
Mary Mitchell Lecturer Participation,Childhood and Youth Studies,Child Welfare,social work interventions,families,Reimagining Outcomes,repositioning positions of power,looked after children,Community social work,Recognition Theory in social work practice 2.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6511530
Mary.Mitchell@ed.ac.uk
George Palattiyil Senior Lecturer | MSW Programme Director HIV and AIDS,asylum seekers and refugees,Human rights,surrogacy and cross border reproductive services,international social work and social development,diversity and marginalisation,migration, social inclusion and citizenship 2.24 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3907
g.palattiyil@ed.ac.uk
Autumn Roesch-Marsh Senior Lecturer in Social Work and Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy Decision making,gender,Social Work education,Social Work,children and families social work practice,Participation,social pedagogy,Empathy,Care experience,Relationship-based practice,Risk,organizations and institutions 2.08 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3870
a.roeschmarsh@ed.ac.uk
Lorraine Waterhouse Professor of Social Work (Emeritus)  Lorraine.Waterhouse@ed.ac.uk
Bill Whyte Professor Emeritus; Honorary Professorial Fellow; formerly Professor of Social Work Studies in Criminal and Youth Justice  B.Whyte@ed.ac.uk