Skip to main content

School of Social and Political Science: Staff profiles

Search

Staff Profiles

Social Work

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Gary Clapton Senior Lecturer adoption and fostering,fathers and fatherhood,children and families social work practice,moral panics 2.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3903
Gary.Clapton@ed.ac.uk
Viviene Cree Professor of Social Work Studies gender and social work,social work history,social work profession,families & HIV,research with children,reflexivity in research,Inequality & diversity 2.23 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3927
Viv.Cree@ed.ac.uk
Karen Dargo Student Support Officer - Sociology and Social Work 1.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1306
karen.dargo@ed.ac.uk
John Devaney Centenary Chair of Social Work Child protection,Child Welfare,Domestic and gender based violence,Social work interventions 2.30 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 651 5363
J.Devaney@ed.ac.uk
Ruth Forbes Programme Director BSc Social Work 2.29 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1485
ruth.forbes@ed.ac.uk
Jackie Gulland Lecturer in Social Work Rights,Law and Regulation,welfare systems,gender and public policy,disability,Social History,Socio-legal,Social care 2.09 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 8256
jackie.gulland@ed.ac.uk
Sumeet Jain Lecturer in Social Work; International Director, School of Social and Political Science community mental health,culture and health,ethnography,well being,South Asia,'global mental health' 2.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 651 1463
sumeet.jain@ed.ac.uk
Steve Kirkwood Senior Lecturer in Social Work Criminal Justice,Restorative Justice,Asylum,Discourse Analysis,Identity,Refugees 2.22 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6646
s.kirkwood@ed.ac.uk
Jane Marshall Subject Area Support officer 2.13B Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3912
Jane.Marshall@ed.ac.uk
George Palattiyil Programme Director - Masters in Social Work HIV and AIDS,asylum seekers and refugees,Human rights,surrogacy and cross border reproductive services,international social work and social development,diversity and marginalisation,migration, social inclusion and citizenship 2.24 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3907
g.palattiyil@ed.ac.uk
Autumn Roesch-Marsh Lecturer in Social Work and Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy Decision making,Risk,Looked After Children,gender,Social Work education,Social Work,children and families social work practice,Participation,social pedagogy,Empathy 2.08 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3870
a.roeschmarsh@ed.ac.uk
Lorraine Waterhouse Professor of Social Work (Emeritus)  Lorraine.Waterhouse@ed.ac.uk
Bill Whyte Professor Emeritus; Honorary Professorial Fellow; formerly Professor of Social Work Studies in Criminal and Youth Justice  B.Whyte@ed.ac.uk