Skip to main content

School of Social and Political Science: Staff profiles

Search

Staff Profiles

Sociology

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Angus Bancroft drug users,dealers and traffickers,drug policy,drug culture,Alcohol,the darknet,digital culture,Digital Sociology,illicit markets,binge drinking 4f1 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 6642
angus.bancroft@ed.ac.uk
Ross Bond Senior Lecturer in Sociology Ethnicity & 'race',Scotland,higher education,national identity,migration 5.08 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3919
R.J.Bond@ed.ac.uk
Julie Brownlie Personal lives and social change,sociology of emotions,Researching the everyday,Digital narratives and trust 1.4, 22 George Square 
George Square
+44(0)131 651 3917
Julie.Brownlie@ed.ac.uk
Ruth Bush Research Fellow – Scotland’s Energy Efficiency Programme Climate change and energy policy,Technology and society,Heat,Energy efficiency,Socio-technical transitions,Multi-level governance S3 Chisholm House
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 651 4182
ruth.bush@ed.ac.uk
Nathan Coombs Leverhulme Early Career Research Fellow Sociological Theory,Financial Markets,Social Studies of Finance,financial regulation,History of Political Thought,Economic Sociology,Social theory 5.12 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6508259
nathan.coombs@ed.ac.uk
Graham Crow Professor of Sociology and Methodology (since 2013); Co-Investigator, ESRC National Centre for Research Methods (NCRM); Associate Director of the Scottish Graduate School of Social Science (SGSSS) Research methods,Interdisciplinary Research,Research Ethics,Research methods and methodological innovations,Comparative, historical, and theoretical sociology,Sociology of families, households and domestic life,Sociology of communities 4.02 
21 Buccleuch Place
+44(0)1316511575
gcrow@exseed.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Karen Dargo Sociology Subject Secretary and Student Support 1.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1306
karen.dargo@ed.ac.uk
Isabelle Darmon Lecturer in Sociology sociology of food,sociology of music,Marx,Weber,Cultural Sociology,Environmental Sociology,Sociology of Sustainability,Dynamics of capitalism 6.27 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1574
Isabelle.Darmon@ed.ac.uk
Emma Davidson National Centre for Research Methods Research Fellow Youth participation,Children's Geographies,ethnography,Youth Justice,Antisocial Behaviour,Public libraries,civil society,child and youth studies,childrens rights Centre for Research on Families and Relationships 
23 Buccleuch Place
0131 651 1940
e.c.davidson@ed.ac.uk
Vernon Gayle Professor of Sociology and Social Statistics Social Stratification,Social statistics,Sociology of youth,Sociology of Education,Migration studies,Fertility,Sociology of Sport,Large and complex datasets,Social surveys,Administrative Data 3.08 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)1316504069
vernon.gayle@ed.ac.uk
Hugo Gorringe Senior Lecturer, Sociology; Convenor for Sociology 2a: Thinking Sociologically Dalit Politics,Policing,Protest,Social movements,Social Violence,Political Economy of India,Caste,Indian Politics 1.02, Number 22 
George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3940
h.gorringe@ed.ac.uk
Radhika Govinda Lecturer in Sociology; On Course Postgraduate Advisor, Sociology identity politics,Feminism,Social movements,Gender and Development,intersectionality,Marginality,Indian Politics,South Asian Studies 6.21 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 650 3906
Radhika.Govinda@ed.ac.uk
Karen Gregory Lecturer in Digital Sociology; Programme Director, MSc Digital Society Digital Sociology,Digital Labor,Gender and Technology,Social media,ethnography,Mixed methods research in social sciences,Sharing Economy,Platform Society,Algorithmic Society,Supply chains and digital infrastructure 6.23 Chrystal Macmillan Building
George Square
+44 (0)131 6511334
K.Gregory@ed.ac.uk
Claire Haggett Senior Lecturer Sustainability,Environmental Sociology,Community energy,Environment,Participation,renewable energy,energy politics,energy security,discourse analysis 5.07 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 650 3916
claire.haggett@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Marie-Eve Hamel Honorary Fellow Genocide,sexual violence,gender,displacement,relationships,belonging,nationalism  v1mhamel@exseed.ed.ac.uk
David Hawkey Research Fellow, Sustainable Heat and Local Energy Technology and society,Climate change and energy policy,renewable energy,local energy governance and organisation (LEGO),Local Government,Heat,District Energy S3 Chisholm House
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 2841
dave.hawkey@ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Hearn Professor of Political and Historical Sociology, Head of Subject Theories of social power,the origins and nature of liberal society,social change and evolution,Nationalism and National Identity,The Sociology of Scotland,sociology of competition,Classical sociology and Scottish Enlightenment thought Room 6.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4242
J.Hearn@ed.ac.uk
Mary Holmes Feminism,Social movements,gender,Gender Theory,emotions,Sexuality,friendship 6.30 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 6513140
mary.holmes@ed.ac.uk
Rachel Howell Lecturer in Sociology/Sustainable Development Sustainability,Promoting lower-carbon practices and lifestyles,Social movements for sustainability,Framing and communication of sustainability issues,Responses to energy technologies and policies,Education for Sustainability 6.25 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1384
rachel.howell@ed.ac.uk
Kanykey Jailobaeva Honorary Fellow organizations and institutions,Civil Society and Democratization,Social movements,International development,Non-governmental organisations,Non-state actors,nonprofit organisations,Children's Rights,Youth,Community Development  kjailoba@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Lynn Jamieson Sociology of Families and Relationships families,personal life,european identity,Social change,oral history,Globalizationsation and personal life,gender,Environment,intimacy,Transgender,transnational families,care chains,friendship,Cosmopolitanism,Memory,identity,gender based violence 5.04 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
++44 (0)131 650 4002
L.Jamieson@ed.ac.uk
Alexander Janus Lecturer in Quantitative Sociology Inequality,Family Demography,Long-Term Care Policy,Family Policy,Longitudinal Data Analysis,Multilevel Analysis 6.20 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3965
alex.janus@ed.ac.uk
Patricia Jeffery Professor (Emerita), Sociology South Asia,Gender and Development,Communal politics,Muslims in South Asia,Reproductive & child health,Reproductive rights,Childbearing,social demography,Ethnicity & 'race'  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
P.Jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Roger Jeffery Professor of Sociology of South Asia Health policy,Emerging economies and global health,Health systems and global health,Political Economy of India,The Sociology of Scotland Room 2, 22A Buccleuch Place 
+44 (0)131 650 3976
R.Jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Stephen Kemp Social theory,the structure/agency problem,actor-network theory,Discourse Theory,Feminist Theory,rationality,explanation,complexity theory,Risk,epistemology and epistemic justification 5.09 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3895
s.kemp@ed.ac.uk
James Kennedy Director, Centre of Canadian Studies; Senior Lecturer in Sociology Comparative/Historical Sociology,Political Sociology,Nationalism and National Identity,Civil Society and Democratization,Liberalism,Scotland,Canada/Quebec 6.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4250
J.Kennedy@ed.ac.uk
Gëzim Krasniqi Career Development Fellow nationalism,identity politics,State building,Social movements,Ethnic conflict,Citizenship,Globalization,the Balkans,Kosovo 6.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)1316515094
G.Krasniqi@ed.ac.uk
Giulia Liberatore Leverhulme Early Career Fellow Islam in Europe,gender,Migration,politics of multiculturalism,Somali diaspora,public religion,Islamic authority and leadership,anthropology of Islam,anthropology of Britain,subjectivity  19 George Square
Giulia.Liberatore@ed.ac.uk
John MacInnes Professor of Sociology; Associate Dean Quantitative Methods, CHSS Quantitative Methods,Research methodology,Social statistics,social demography,Population ageing,Fertility,Mortality,Gender Theory,Work-Life balance,Labour Market,National Identity,Scotland,Catalonia,Spain,Malawi 5.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 3867
John.MacInnes@ed.ac.uk
Donald MacKenzie Financial Markets,Sociology of Science and Technology 6.26 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3980
DonaldMacKenziePA@ed.ac.uk
Lisa McCormick Lecturer Cultural Sociology,sociology of music,Social theory,civil society,performance theory,death 6.29 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1339
lisa.mccormick@ed.ac.uk
David McCrone Emeritus Professor of Sociology  Chisholm House
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 2459
d.mccrone@ed.ac.uk
Niamh Moore Chancellor's Fellow Feminist theory,ethics and research practices,Feminist Research,Sustainability,women's movements,ecofeminism Room 3.09, 3F2 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44(0)131 6508260
Niamh.Moore@ed.ac.uk
Kate Orton-Johnson Senior Lecturer in Sociology Technology and society,Research methodology,Media and society,E-learning,Digital Culture,New Media,Digital Ethnography,Digital Leisure 2.06 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 651 1230
K.orton-Johnson@ed.ac.uk
Chris Playford Research Fellow in Social Science Research (Data Analysis and Statistics) Social Stratification,Sociology of Education,Social surveys,Administrative Data,statistical analysis 3.20 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)1316513866
chris.playford@ed.ac.uk
Nick Prior Senior Lecturer
Visiting Fellow, Tokyo University of the Arts (Geidai)
popular culture,popular music,digital culture,cultural theory,new media,Pierre Bourdieu,urban sociology,Japanese culture 4.04, 4FT 
21 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 3991
n.prior@ed.ac.uk
Stanley Raffel  stanley.raffel@ed.ac.uk
Liliana Riga Postgraduate Advisor; Programme Director, MSc Sociology & Global Change Political Sociology,Comparative/Historical Sociology,Race/ethnicity,Nationalism/nationbuilding,Refugees/migration/displacement,American social and ethnic/racial inequalities 6.24 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1853
l.riga@ed.ac.uk
Michael Rosie Senior Lecturer in Sociology; Programme Director, Nationalism Studies The Sociology of Scotland,Secularisation,nationalism,Religious Identity,national identity,Nationalism and National Identity,Sectarianism,Politics and Religion,Loyalism 1.01 
22 George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1651
m.j.rosie@ed.ac.uk
Emilia Sereva Research Assistant - Whites Writing Whiteness ESRC Process / Figurational Sociology,Norbert Elias,Sociogenesis,Social Theory  e.p.sereva@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jeroen Spijker Senior Research Fellow Demography,Population research use,Sociology of social groups (Family, kinship and marriage),Population Characteristics,Population health,Population ageing 5.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)1316513867
j.spijker@ed.ac.uk
Liz Stanley Professor of Sociology and ESRC Professorial Research Fellow historical sociology,feminist theory,sociological theory,social change,narrative & auto/biographical methodologies,South Africa,'Documents of life',in particular letters and diaries,everyday life sociology,Norbert Elias & figurational sociology 6.22 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
++44 (0)131 651 3139 - but please email for strong preference!
liz.stanley@ed.ac.uk
M. Angelica Thumala Olave Programme Co-Director, MSc Sociology and Global Change Cultural Sociology,Sociology of Religion,Consumption,Gender and Development,Catholicism,Secularisation,Identity formation,Elites,Culture and society in Latin America,Sociology of reading and books 3.22 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 6631
Angelica.Thumala@ed.ac.uk
Mags Tingey Research officer and admin support local energy governance and organisation (LEGO),Energy & Infrastructure,District Energy,energy policy and politics,city communities,local government S3 Chisholm House
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 8093 Margaret.tingey(at)ed.ac.uk
Gil Viry Sociology Research Fellow (Chancellor's Fellowship) spatial mobility,Family relationship,space and spatiality,Social network analysis,life course research,Quantitative Methods 3.09 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 651 5768; Twitter: @gil_viry
gil.viry@ed.ac.uk
Janette Webb Professor of Sociology of Organisations Sustainability,economic sociology,energy and society,energy governance and organisation,cities S2 Chisholm House
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 3987
jan.webb@ed.ac.uk
Sophia Woodman Chancellor's Fellow Citizenship, human rights and social movements; contemporary China; law and society; regional autonomy frameworks; migration and translocality. 3.09 
18 Buccleuch Place
44 (0)131 651 4745
Sophia.Woodman@ed.ac.uk