Skip to main content

School of Social and Political Science: Staff profiles

Search

Staff Profiles

Sociology

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Angus Bancroft  angus.bancroft@ed.ac.uk
Katucha Bento Lecturer in Race and Decolonial Studies Black feminisms,Critical Race Studies,Decolonial Studies,Queer Studies,Nation and Nationality,African Diaspora,Discourse and Rhetoric Studies,Anti-racist Pedagogies,Education,Killjoy Feminists,Love,Affect and the Body,Audre Lorde,Lelia Gonzalez 5.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131651 3867
kbento@ed.ac.uk
Ross Bond Senior Lecturer in Sociology; Deputy Head of Subject Ethnicity & 'race',Scotland,higher education,national identity,migration 5.08 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3919
R.J.Bond@ed.ac.uk
Michaelagh Broadbent Research Support Officer (GLIMER); Editorial Officer (Identities: Global Studies in Culture and Power); Editorial Assistant (Critical African Studies) 4.02 
21 Buccleuch Place
+44(0)131 651 1730
michaelagh.broadbent@ed.ac.uk
Julie Brownlie Personal lives and social change,sociology of emotions,Researching the everyday,Documents of Life,trust,Document analysis 1.4, 22 George Square 
George Square
+44(0)131 651 3917
Julie.Brownlie@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Frances Burgess 6.13 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 131 651 5093
Frances.J.Burgess@ed.ac.uk
Shruti Chaudhry British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow 1.01 
21 George Square
+44 (0)1316511778
Shruti.Chaudhry@ed.ac.uk
Roxanne Connelly Senior Lecturer of Sociology and Quantitative Methods Social Stratification,Sociology of Education,Social Inequalities,Social Class,Quantitative Methods in Social Research,Large and complex datasets,Longitudinal Data Analysis,Survey Data Analysis,Administrative Data,Research Transparency and Reproducibility  Chrystal Macmillan Building
George Square
roxanne.connelly@ed.ac.uk
Nathan Coombs Lecturer in Economic Sociology, Sociology Senior Personal Tutor, Deputy School Academic Misconduct Officer Sociological Theory,Financial Markets,Social Studies of Finance,financial regulation,History of Political Thought,Economic Sociology,Social theory 6.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 6508259
nathan.coombs@ed.ac.uk
Graham Crow Professor of Sociology and Methodology (since 2013) Research methods,Interdisciplinary Research,Research Ethics,Research methods and methodological innovations,Comparative, historical, and theoretical sociology,Sociology of families, households and domestic life,Sociology of communities G.2 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44(0)1316511575
gcrow@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Karen Dargo Student Support Officer - Sociology and Social Work G.04 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1306
karen.dargo@ed.ac.uk
Isabelle Darmon Lecturer in Sociology and Sustainable Development sociology of food,sociology of music,Marx,Weber,Cultural Sociology,Environmental Sociology,Sociology of Sustainability,Dynamics of capitalism 6.27 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1574
Isabelle.Darmon@ed.ac.uk
Vernon Gayle Professor of Sociology and Social Statistics Social Stratification,Social statistics,Sociology of youth,Sociology of Education,Migration studies,Fertility,Sociology of Sport,Large and complex datasets,Social surveys,Administrative Data 3.08 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)1316504069
vernon.gayle@ed.ac.uk
Hugo Gorringe Senior Lecturer, Sociology; Co-director - Centre of South Asian Studies Dalit Politics,Policing,Protest,Social movements,Social Violence,Political Economy of India,Caste,Indian Politics 1.02, Number 22 
George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3940
h.gorringe@ed.ac.uk
Radhika Govinda Senior Lecturer in Sociology Feminism,Intersectionality,Gender politics of development,Decoloniality,Knowledge production,Women's and social movements,Postcolonial state and masculinities,South Asia 6.21 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 650 3906
Radhika.Govinda@ed.ac.uk
Karen Gregory Senior Lecturer in Sociology Digital Sociology,Digital Labor,Gender and Technology,Social media,ethnography,Mixed methods research in social sciences,Sharing Economy,Platform Society,Algorithmic Society,Supply chains and digital infrastructure 6.23 Chrystal Macmillan Building
George Square
+44 (0)131 6511334
K.Gregory@ed.ac.uk
Tod Van Gunten Lecturer in Economic Sociology Economic Sociology,Political Sociology,Comparative/Historical Sociology,Social network analysis,International development,Globalization,Sociological Theory,Quantitative Methods,Qualitative Research Methods,Mixed methods research in social sciences 6.10 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 650 4637
tvangun@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Claire Haggett Senior Lecturer Sustainability,Environmental Sociology,Community energy,Environment,Participation,renewable energy,energy politics,energy security,discourse analysis 5.07 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 650 3916
claire.haggett@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Marie-Eve Hamel Honorary Fellow Genocide,sexual violence,gender,displacement,relationships,belonging,nationalism  v1mhamel@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Hearn Professor of Political and Historical Sociology Theories of social power,the origins and nature of liberal society,social change and evolution,Nationalism and National Identity,The Sociology of Scotland,sociology of competition,Classical sociology and Scottish Enlightenment thought Room 6.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4242
J.Hearn@ed.ac.uk
Emma Hill Research Fellow Immigration,asylum seekers and refugees,Postcoloniality,Decolonisation,gender,Somali Diaspora,Race and identity G.3 
22a Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 6891
E.Hill@ed.ac.uk
Mary Holmes Professor of Emotions and Society Feminism,Social movements,gender,Gender Theory,emotions,Sexuality,friendship 6.30 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 6513140
mary.holmes@ed.ac.uk
Rachel Howell Lecturer in Sociology/Sustainable Development Sustainability,Promoting lower-carbon practices and lifestyles,Framing and communication of sustainability issues,Responses to energy technologies and policies,Education for Sustainability,Social movements for sustainability 6.25 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1384
rachel.howell@ed.ac.uk
Kanykey Jailobaeva Honorary Fellow organizations and institutions,Civil Society and Democratization,Social movements,International development,Non-governmental organisations,Non-state actors,nonprofit organisations,Children's Rights,Youth,Community Development  kjailoba@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Lynn Jamieson Sociology of Families and Relationships families,personal life,european identity,Social change,oral history,Globalizationsation and personal life,gender,Environment,intimacy,Transgender,transnational families,care chains,friendship,Cosmopolitanism,Memory,identity,gender based violence 5.04 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
++44 (0)131 650 4002
L.Jamieson@ed.ac.uk
Alexander Janus Lecturer in Quantitative Methods and Sociology Family Eldercare,Long-Term Services and Supports,Quantitative Methods 6.20 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)7454 922590 (cell); +44 (0)131 651 3965 (office)
alex.janus@ed.ac.uk
Roger Jeffery Professor of Sociology of South Asia; Associate Director, Edinburgh India Institute Health policy,Emerging economies and global health,Health systems and global health,Political Economy of India,The Sociology of Scotland,Environment Room 2, 22A Buccleuch Place 
+44 (0)131 650 3976
R.Jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Stephen Kemp Social theory,the structure/agency problem,actor-network theory,Feminist Theory,rationality,explanation,complexity theory,Risk,epistemology and epistemic justification 5.09 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3895
s.kemp@ed.ac.uk
James Kennedy Director, Centre of Canadian Studies; Senior Lecturer in Sociology Comparative/Historical Sociology,Political Sociology,Nationalism and National Identity,Civil Society and Democratization,Liberalism,Scotland,Canada/Quebec 6.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4250
J.Kennedy@ed.ac.uk
Gëzim Krasniqi Lecturer in Nationalism and Political Sociology; Programme Co-Director, MSc Nationalism Studies nationalism,identity politics,State building,Ethnic conflict,Citizenship,Globalization,the Balkans,Kosovo 3.14 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)1316515094
G.Krasniqi@ed.ac.uk
Giulia Liberatore Lecturer gender,politics of multiculturalism,Somali diaspora,public religion,Islamic authority and leadership,subjectivity,sociology and anthropology of Islam,migration,aspiration,critical theory,Islam in Europe,religious diversity,Anthropology of Britain,Anthropology and sociology of Italy G.3 
19 George Square
+44 (0)131 650 4463
Giulia.Liberatore@ed.ac.uk
Alice Dias Lopes Career Development Fellow in Quantitative Methods Social Stratification,Social Mobility,Education,inequality and social mobility,Sociology of Education,Latin America,Brazil,Quantitative Methods 4F1 
21 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0) 131 651 1364
adiaslo@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Donald MacKenzie Financial Markets,Sociology of Science and Technology 6.26 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3980
DonaldMacKenziePA@ed.ac.uk
Lisa McCormick Senior Lecturer Cultural Sociology,sociology of music,Social theory,civil society,performance theory,death 6.29 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1339
lisa.mccormick@ed.ac.uk
David McCrone Emeritus Professor of Sociology B.3 Chisholm House
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 2459
d.mccrone@ed.ac.uk
Liz Mcfall Chancellor's Fellow Technology and society,Insurance markets,sociology of markets,Consumer markets,Consumption,cities,welfare systems 2.1 
21 George Square
+44(0)7825566153
liz.mcfall@ed.ac.uk
Nasar Meer  22a Buccleuch Place
Nasar.Meer@ed.ac.uk
Niamh Moore Senior Lecturer Feminist theory,ethics and research practices,Feminist Research,Sustainability,women's movements,ecofeminism,archives,Research methodology,oral history,community-based participatory research,Queer Theory,interdisciplinary research,transdisciplinary research,narrative research Room 3.09, 3F2 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44(0)131 6508260
Niamh.Moore@ed.ac.uk @rawfeminism
Órla Meadhbh Murray Visiting Scholar Feminist Sociology,Institutional Ethnography,Dorothy Smith,Audit Culture,Academia,Universities,Intersectionality,Black feminisms,Epistemologies,Work & Labour,Queer Studies,Identity  omurray2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Kate Orton-Johnson Senior Lecturer in Sociology Digital Culture,New Media,Digital Ethnography,Digital Leisure,Blogging and mediated parenthood,Social media,digital methodologies 2.06 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 651 1230
K.orton-Johnson@ed.ac.uk
Plamena Panayotova British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow Statistics,History of statistics,History of sociology,Research methods in sociology,Popularisation of science,History of science 4F1 
21 Buccleuch Place
ppanayo2@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Nick Prior Professor of Cultural Sociology popular music,digital culture,cultural theory,new media,Pierre Bourdieu,urban sociology,Japanese culture,Hatsune Miku 4.04, 4FT 
21 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 650 3991
n.prior[at]ed.ac.uk
Kevin Ralston Lecturer in Sociology and Quantitative Methods Quantitative Methods in Social Research,Social statistics,Families,Childbearing,Public health,Youth labour market,Young People not in Employment,Education or Training (NEET),Class and social stratification,Inequality,Inequality in the labour market  Chrystal Macmillan Building
Kev.Ralston@ed.ac.uk
Liliana Riga Senior Lecturer 6.24 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 651 1853
l.riga@ed.ac.uk
Michael Rosie Senior Lecturer in Sociology; Programme Co-Director, Nationalism Studies The Sociology of Scotland,Secularisation,nationalism,Religious Identity,national identity,Nationalism and National Identity,Sectarianism,Politics and Religion,Loyalism,unionism 1.01 
22 George Square
m.j.rosie@ed.ac.uk
Emilia Sereva Honorary Fellow, School of Social and Political Science Process Sociology,Norbert Elias,Social theory  Emilia.Sereva@ed.ac.uk
Jeroen Spijker Senior Research Fellow Demography,Population research use,Sociology of social groups (Family, kinship and marriage),Population Characteristics,Population health,Population ageing 5.05 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)1316513867
j.spijker@ed.ac.uk
Liz Stanley Professor of Sociology historical sociology,feminist theory,sociological theory,social change,narrative & auto/biographical methodologies,South Africa,'Documents of life',in particular letters and diaries,everyday life sociology,Norbert Elias & figurational sociology 6.22 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
++44 (0)131 651 3139 - but please email for strong preference!
liz.stanley@ed.ac.uk
M. Angélica Thumala Olave Lecturer in Global Sociology-Programme Co-Director, MSc Sociology and Global Change Cultural Sociology,Sociology of Religion,Consumption,Catholicism,Secularisation,Elites,Culture and society in Latin America,Sociology of reading and writing,Books 1.02 
21 George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6631
Angelica.Thumala@ed.ac.uk
Mags Tingey Research Officer local energy governance and organisation (LEGO),District Energy,energy policy and politics,local government,energy and society,Valuation Studies,Economic Sociology 2.27 Chisholm House
High School Yards
Margaret.tingey[at]ed.ac.uk
Shaira Vadasaria Lecturer in Race and Decolonial Studies Race and Colonialism,Law and Regulation,Forced Displacement and Refugee Studies,Reparations and Redress,decolonial thought,Feminist Theory and Research,Palestine Studies  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
shaira.vadasaria@ed.ac.uk
Gil Viry Senior Lecturer spatial mobility,Family relationship,space and spatiality,Social network analysis,life course research,Quantitative Methods 3.09 
18 Buccleuch Place
+44 (0)131 651 5768; Twitter: @gil_viry
gil.viry@ed.ac.uk
Faye Wade ClimateXChange Postdoctoral Research Fellow - Energy Efficient Scotland evaluation Climate change and energy policy,Heat,Domestic energy,Building professionals,Technology and society 2.27 Chisholm House
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 651 4182
Faye.Wade@ed.ac.uk
Janette Webb Professor of Sociology of Organisations Sustainability,economic sociology,energy and society,cities,European heat and energy efficiency policy and practice,energy governance 2.28 Chisholm House
High School Yards
+44 (0)131 650 3987
jan.webb@ed.ac.uk
Lauren Wilks work,labour,gender,mobility,inequality,family and personal relationships,gender-based violence,ethnography,qualitative research,feminist research 4.13 Chrystal Macmillan Building
George Square
Lauren.Wilks@ed.ac.uk
Sophia Woodman Senior lecturer Citizenship, human rights and social movements; contemporary China; law and society; regional autonomy frameworks; migration and translocality. 3.09 
18 Buccleuch Place
44 (0)131 651 4745
Sophia.Woodman@ed.ac.uk