Skip to main content

School of Social and Political Science: Staff profiles

Search

Staff Profiles

Centre for South Asian Studies

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Crispin Bates Professor of Modern and Contemporary South Asian History; School of History, Classics and Archaeology 1.23 William Robertson Wing, Old Medical School
Teviot Place
+44 (0)131 650 3765
Crispin.Bates@ed.ac.uk
John Brockington Honorary Fellow  J.L.Brockington@ed.ac.uk
Jacob Copeman Senior Lecturer South Asia,Gurus,Atheism,Blood Donation,Tissue Economies,Social Reform,Media,Technology and society,India,Medical Anthropology,Names and Naming 5.03 Chrystal Macmillan Building
+44 (0)131 6506860
Stefan Ecks Programme Director Medical Anthropology Medical Anthropology,Medical pluralism,Anthropology of Pharmaceuticals,Anthropology of food,Transcultural psychiatry 4.28 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6969
Stefan.Ecks@ed.ac.uk
Anthony Good Professor Emeritus; Professorial Fellow Family and kinship  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
A.Good@ed.ac.uk
Hugo Gorringe Senior Lecturer, Sociology; Convenor for Sociology 2a: Thinking Sociologically Dalit Politics,Policing,Protest,Social movements,Social Violence,Political Economy of India,Caste,Indian Politics 1.02, Number 22 
George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3940
h.gorringe@ed.ac.uk
Ian Harper Professor of Anthropology of Health and Development; Director, Edinburgh Centre for Medical Anthropology (EdCMA) International development,South Asia,Medical Anthropology,Global Health Policy 6.07 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3816
ian.harper@ed.ac.uk
Lotte Hoek Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology Media anthropology,Sexuality,Visual Culture,Cinema,Urban Ethnography,South Asia,Bangladesh,Pakistan 5.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 6544
lotte.hoek@ed.ac.uk
Patricia Jeffery Professor (Emerita), Sociology South Asia,Gender and Development,Communal politics,Muslims in South Asia,Reproductive & child health,Reproductive rights,Childbearing,social demography,Ethnicity & 'race'  Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
P.Jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Roger Jeffery Professor of Sociology of South Asia Health policy,Emerging economies and global health,Health systems and global health,Political Economy of India,The Sociology of Scotland Room 2, 22A Buccleuch Place 
+44 (0)131 650 3976
R.Jeffery@ed.ac.uk
Anuj Kapilashrami Lecturer in Global Health Policy, Programme Director for MSc. in Global Health & Public Policy Associate Director, Global Development Academy ethnography,Health policy,South Asia,Social movements,privatisation,commercial sector engagement / trade in health policy,global governance,gender inequalities 2.20 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 1316511929
anuj.kapilashrami@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Ada Munns Centre Secretary, Centre for South Asian Studies, Centre of Canadian Studies, SKAPE, Network Facilitator, Leverhulme Project 6.14 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44(0)131 6504129
Ada.Munns@ed.ac.uk
George Palattiyil Programme Director - Masters in Social Work HIV and AIDS,asylum seekers and refugees,Human rights,surrogacy and cross border reproductive services,international social work and social development,diversity and marginalisation,migration, social inclusion and citizenship 2.24 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3907
g.palattiyil@ed.ac.uk
Jeevan Sharma Lecturer in South Asia and International Development; Programme Director- MSc International Development; Deputy Director, Graduate School of Social and Political Science (Director PGT); Deputy Director- Global Development Academy Migrant labor,Migration and development,livelihoods,Gender and Development,Youth,human rights,Development and Humanitarian Aid,Global Health,Reproductive & child health,Monitoring and Evaluation,Nepal and the Himalaya,South Asia 5.01 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0) 131 6511760
jeevan.sharma@ed.ac.uk
Jonathan Spencer Regius Professor of South Asian Language, Culture and Society Religion and Politics,Sri Lanka,South and Southeast Asia,Buddhism,War and peace 5.02 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3944
jonathan.spencer@ed.ac.uk
Neil Thin Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology; Deputy Director of the Undergraduate School (Progression and Student Experience) happiness,wellbeing and the good life,social planning,appreciative (positive) research and planning 5.27 Chrystal Macmillan Building
15a George Square
+44 (0)131 650 3880
n.thin@ed.ac.uk