School of Social and Political Science

School governance

Introduction

Head of School

The Head of School is responsible for the academic leadership and management of the School. They are supported in the management of the School by the Director of Professional Services and the appointed School officers, to whom a number of responsibilities are devolved. Mechanisms for consultation include School forums and School committees.

Key Contacts

Name Role Contact
Linda McKie Dean and Head of School Tel: +44(0) 131 651 1455 | linda.mckie@ed.ac.uk
Richard Baxstrom Deputy Head of School and Director of Learning and Teaching Tel: +44 (0)131 650 4051 | richard.baxstrom@ed.ac.uk
Neil Willett Director of Professional Services Tel: +44 (0)131 651 1622 | neil.willett@ed.ac.uk

Content

Undergraduate Study

Undergraduate Teaching is led by the Director of Undergraduate Programmes alongside two Deputy Directors, who are responsible for learning and teaching, and student experience and enagement, respectively. They work closely with the Head of Teaching and Student Services.

Implementation of the School's undergraduate teaching policies is provided by a team of administrative staff who make up our School's Undergraduate Teaching Office. Student support is available from our personal tutors, who work in conjunction with our team of student support officers.

Key Contacts

Name Role Contact
Dr Andrea Birdsall Director of Undergraduate Programmes Tel:  +44 (0)131 650 6974 | a.birdsall@ed.ac.uk
Dr Meryl Kenny Deputy Director of Learning and Teaching Tel:  +44 (0)131 651 1332 | m.kenny@ed.ac.uk
Dr John Harries Deputy Director of Student Experience and Engagement Tel:  +44 (0)131 651 3065 | j.harries@ed.ac.uk
Ms Marie Craft Head of Teaching and Student Services Tel: +44 (0)131 650 3943 | marie.craft@ed.ac.uk

 

 

Postgraduate Study

Postgraduate study is led by the Director of Postgraduate Taught Programmes and the Director of Postgraduate Research Programmes. They work closely with the SPS Graduate School, where professional services staff provide support for students and teaching delivery.

Key Contacts

Name Role Contact
Dr Kate Wright Director of Postgraduate Taught Programmes Kate.Wright@ed.ac.uk
Dr Steve Kirkwood Director of Postgraduate Research Programmes Tel: +44 (0)131 650 6646 | s.kirkwood@ed.ac.uk

 

Research

The Research Office is led by the Director of Research and supported by the Associate Director of Research - Knowledge Exchange; the Deputy Director of Research (Ethics); and the Deputy Director of Research (Data). It aims to produce research at the highest international standard and to provide a research-rich environment across the School. 

Key Contacts

Name Role Contact

Professor Tobias Kelly

Dr Mathias Thaler

Co-Directors of Research

Tel: +44 (131) 650 3986 |
Toby.Kelly@ed.ac.uk

+44 (0)131 6515769 |
mathias.thaler@ed.ac.uk

Dr Marc Geddes Associate Director of Research - Knowledge Exchange Tel: +44 (0) 131 651 3784 |
marc.geddes@ed.ac.uk
Dr Sudeepa Abeysinghe Deputy Director of Research (Ethics) Tel: +44 (0)131 6515471 |
Sudeepa.Abeysinghe@ed.ac.uk

Dr Lisa McCormick

Deputy Director of Research (Data) Tel: +44 (0)131 651 1339 |
lisa.mccormick@ed.ac.uk
Dr Emily Adrion International Director
Emily.Adrion@ed.ac.uk

Caroline Laffey

(starting April 2021)

Research Portfolio Manager  
Juliet Craig Research Programme Manager Tel: +44 (0)131 651 1285 |
Juliet.craig@ed.ac.uk
Susie Ballentyne Deputy Director of Professional Services Tel: +44 (0)131 651 5075
susie.ballentyne@ed.ac.uk
Sandra Appleby-Arnold Knowledge Exchange and Impact Manager

sandra.appleby-arnold@ed.ac.uk