School of Social and Political Science

Annual conference: Parliaments and Security: Workshop on Parliaments and Security

Category
Conference
23 - 24 June 2021
15:00 - 17:00

Venue

Online

Description

Workshop on Parliaments and Security

While parliaments’ roles in security have often been neglected in practice and in scholarship, the importance of parliaments in security has received significant attention in recent years. This online workshop will take stock of the current understanding of parliaments and security, showcase cutting-edge work in this area, and set an agenda for future research. The invited papers in the workshop reflect on this broad theme from multiple perspectives and across a diverse range of specific topics. 

How to attend

We welcome attendance by others who are not already presenting and on the program.

For further information and links to workshop panels, please contact Juliet Kaarbo and Andrew Neal, Co-Directors, Centre for Security Research at: ceser@ed.ac.uk

Panel 1: June 23, 3 – 5pm (UK time)

Chair: Andrew Neal, SPS at the University of Edinburgh, Andrew.Neal@ed.ac.uk

HOW DO POLITICAL PARTIES TRANSLATE SECURITY? SECURITIZATION OF ISLAM FROM THE POPULIST RADICAL RIGHT TO THE LEFT

Ugo Gaudino, University of Kent, U.M.Gaudino@kent.ac.uk

Discussant: Lynsey Mitchell

INTERNATIONAL LAW AS SHIBOLETH: ENDORSING HEROIC NARRATIVE TROPES IN UK PARLIAMENTARY DEBATES ON MILITARY INTERVENTION

Lynsey Mitchell, Abertay University, L.mitchell@abertay.ac.uk

Discussant: Andrew Defty

FAVOURED, FORGOTTEN AND ABUSED: 25 YEARS OF PARLIAMENTARY SCRUTINY OF THE UK INTELLIGENCE AND SECURITY AGENCIES

Dr Andrew Defty, University of Lincoln, adefty@lincoln.ac.uk

Discussant:  Ugo Gaudino

Panel 2: June 24, 11am-1pm (UK time)

Chair:  Benjamin Martill, SPS at the University of Edinburgh, benjamin.martill@ed.ac.uk

WHY STUDYING THE UK PARLIAMENT MATTERS

James Strong, Queen Mary University of London, j.strong@qmul.ac.uk

Discussant: Tara McCormack

BRITAIN’S WAR POWERS: TAKING STOCK SINCE THE APRIL 2018 AIRSTRIKES

Tara McCormack, University of Leicester, tm155@leicester.ac.uk

Discussant: Burcu Turkoglu

THE ROLE OF THE PARLIAMENT AND EXECUTIVE IN DECIDING ON THE EXCEPTION: TURKEY BETWEEN 1950 AND 1987

Burcu Turkoglu, Bilkent University, burcu.turkoglu@bilkent.edu.tr

Discussant: James Strong

Panel 3:  June 24 3-5pm (UK time)

Chair: Juliet Kaarbo, SPS at the University of Edinburgh, j.kaarbo@ed.ac.uk

INTRODUCING THE PARLIAMENTARY DEPLOYMENT VOTE DATASET

Falk Ostermann, Justus Liebig University Giessen, falk.ostermann@sowi.uni-giessen.de

and Wolfgang Wagner, Free University Amsterdam, w.m.wagner@vu.nl 

Discussant: Chuck Hermann

DEBATING SECURITY: THE INFLUENCE OF PUBLIC OPINION

Michael Lister, Oxford Brookes University, mlister@brookes.ac.uk

Discussant: Falk Ostermann and/or Wolfgang Wagner

COMPARING OBAMA AND TRUMP’S USE OF FOREIGN POLICY EXECUTIVE ORDERS IN A POLARIZED POLITICAL ENVIRONMENT

Chuck Hermann, Texas A&M University, hermann@tamu.edu

Discussant: Michael Lister

Price

Free