School of Social and Political Science

Three SPS staff nominated for students’ association Teaching Awards





School of Social and Political Science (SPS) staff Professor Darrick Evensen, Dr Claire Haggett and Marifatul Amalia have been shortlisted for Edinburgh University Students’ Association’s (EUSA) Teaching Awards.  

These student-led awards recognise the pivotal role that staff play in the student experience at the University of Edinburgh, from lecturers, tutors, supervisors and personal tutors to professional services staff. They provide students with an opportunity to thank staff for their hard work and celebrate the best of teaching and support here. 

Professor Evensen, from the Politics and International Relations subject area at SPS, and Dr Haggett, from Sociology, were both shortlisted for the Cohort Lead of the Year award. This award recognises a staff member who:  

  • Supported students’ personal, professional and academic development 
  • Demonstrated commitment to students’ welfare and wellbeing, or helped create a sense of community and belonging within their cohort 
  • Empowered students to feel in control of their academic journeys 

Marifatul is a PhD student at the University of Edinburgh’s Moray House School of Education, who tutors at SPS. She was nominated for the Student Tutor of the Year award, which recognises a tutor who: 

  • Created an engaging space for learning, whether in classes, tutorials or labs   
  • Supplemented lecture content to enhance the student experience   
  • Utilised their own experience as a student to provide insight and support 

Congratulations to Darrick, Claire and Marifatul! 

The EUSA Teaching Awards winners will be announced on 24 April.